Ebooks: How to Access: Checking out an EBSCO ebook for Laptop or Android

In order to download ebooks you will need to be logged into your PHSC library account.  This will give you access to all PHSC library resources. There are two ways to log into the PHSC Library.

• Sign into your Canvas account and click into one of your courses
• On the left side of the screen where Canvas gives you tabs to select portions of your course (Modules, Assignments etc.) at the bottom of this list you will see a button for Electronic Library Resources.
• Follow this link and it will log you directly to the library catalog (primo) and a link to the A-Z databases is above the search area.  Scroll down to Ebook Collection EBSCO or Ebook Central (ProQuest) and click on one of them to go into the database.

Please Note: If you have a tablet or mobile device and use the full site, the download may not function properly.

If you are using an Android device, you will want to use the browser Opera instead of Chrome. If you use Google Chrome on the device, you may receive a "no tokens" message. To download Opera for Android, click here.

To download an eBook:

• Create a search on EBSCOhost or EBSCOhost Mobile
• Tap an eBook image in the result list for the eBook you would like to download. The detailed record is displayed.
• Tap the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
• If you are not logged into your personal My EBSCOhost folder (Your account), you are prompted to do so.
• Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and tap the Checkout & Download button.
• The eBook is added to the Checkout area of your My EBSCOhost folder and begins to download to your device.
• Your android device will ask you if you would like to download it to Bluefire. Click on Bluefire.

You may now begin reading the eBook on your device.

• Once you have signed into the PHSC Library and have an account with Ebook Collection EBSCO, you are ready to start checking out books.
• You can look for books in two ways.  You can go to our library catalog and search for ebooks. This method may bring up books from either Ebrary or Ebooks Collection (EBSCO). You can also go to the database list and click on Ebook Collections EBSCO. You can then look up books through the database. This is the method that I will describe.
• Go to the Databases A-Z tab at the top of the library catalog page.
• There will be a long list of databases - scroll down to Ebook Collection EBSCO and click on it.
• Now you are in the database.
• Ebook Collection (EBSCO) allows you to search or browse ebooks. You will now need to sign into your account. Click on Sign in at the top left of the page before searching for a book. 
• To browse, you can choose from the subject list on the left side of the screen or click into one of the highlighted or featured ebooks.
• To, search, enter your search terms into the box and click search. You can also use the advanced search which is underneath the general search box.
• I am going to start off with a general search for Tuskegee airmen. You can be as simple or as complex as you like in your searches.
• If you click on the title of the book, you will go to a page with publication information and other interesting tidbits about the book.
• To download the book click the download button at the bottom of that books listing.  See image below.

• When you click download, a number of options will appear. You will be asked for how many days you would like to check out the book (1-7). Unfortunately, this book only prints in PDF. However, you will still be able to read it on your device. Not all ebooks will be only PDF documents. Click checkout and download when you have indicated the number of check out days.
• Please note: You will need to download a copy of Adobe Digital Editions on your device in order to download the ebooks. They will not open without this installed. Installation is different for every device, please see the Adobe Digital Editions tab above. 

You have just downloaded an ebook!