Skip to main content
Academic CalendarCollege CatalogCourse Schedule College Store myPHSC
Pasco-Hernando State College
PHSC Libraries | Course Reserves | Research Guides | New Books | Library Catalog | Ask A Librarian |
Library Hours and Services | Library FAQ

Pasco-Hernando State College Library Hours and Services: Home

Library Hours

Summer Semester 2019

All Campuses
  • Monday 8:00 am to 7:30 pm
    Tuesday  8:00 am to 7:30 pm
    Wednesday 8:00 am to 7:30 pm
    Thursday 8:00 am to 7:30 pm
    Friday Closed
Closed:
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 27, 2019
  •    Fourth of July - Thursday, July 4, 2019

PHSC Library - Follow us on FaceBook

Find Us On FaceBook

PHSC Library - Follow us on Twitter

Follow Us On Twitter

Library Services

PHSC has two wireless networks, PHSC-Wireless and PHSC-Guest.

“PHSC-Wireless” will provide all PHSC Employees and Students with secure, encrypted wireless access. It can be accessed using your PHSC username and password.

“PHSC-Guest” will provide visitors to the college internet access. It can be accessed by simply agreeing to the terms and conditions that will be presented on the screen after connecting/opening a web browser. The restricted guest network will provide internet access only. 

Your student identification card is your library card.  To obtain a student ID you need a valid government-issued photo ID such as a driver's license.  

 

Student ID/library cards are available at each PHSC campus library.

  • A valid student identification card is required to borrow library materials.
  • Initial library cards are provided at no cost. Replacement cards are $10.00.
  • The Student ID number is the 8-digit number located in the black bar on the front of the card.
  • The Borrower ID number is the 14-digit number located under the bar code.

Course reserve material, including textbooks, anatomy models, calculators, and chemistry model sets are available for in library use. Use the tab located at the top of the page to view which items are available at your local campus library.

Ask-a-Librarian is an online chat reference service providing live research help and general Information needs assistance across the State of Florida. The service is free and is staffed by Reference Librarians from around the state, some of which are PHSC Librarians. 

The service is often available late at night and on the weekends after the PHSC Libraries have closed. An app can be downloaded for the service, a Patron can text the service from their phone, E-mail the service, or chat with a Librarian in Spanish.

Even if a Patron is connected to a Librarian who is not based at PHSC, the Librarian still has access to all of the PHSC Library's research resources. The only limitation is that a non-PHSC Librarian cannot give a Patron assistance with their Library account as they do not have access to Patron information outside of their home Library.

To access Ask-a-Librarian you can click on this link, or access the Ask-a-Librarian widget on the PHSC Library Catalog.

Library staff are available during all scheduled hours to assist with use of the libraries’ resources, including LINCCWeb and other reference tools. Please do not hesitate to ask.

LINCCWeb Online Catalog

The Library Information Network for Community Colleges (LINCCWeb) is the online gateway to library materials in Florida’s 28 community and state colleges. You can search for books, audiovisual materials, audiobooks, e-books, and magazines.

To search for print materials:

  1. Go to http://www.phsc.edu/library/
  2. Click on Library catalog.
  3. Enter your terms in the search field. You can search by Title, Author, Subject, and Keyword(s).
  4. To narrow your search, click on Advanced Search.
  5. Advanced Search allows you to search by publication type, material type, and language. 

LINCCWeb Databases

LINCCWeb also includes access to electronic databases that contain full-text journal articles, newspapers, and electronic books. Currently enrolled students with Internet access can use the LINCCWeb databases anytime.  Students can access LINCCWeb automatically by logging into their Canvas account or by following the steps below:

To access the LinccWeb databases:

  1. Go to http://www.phsc.edu/library/
  2. Click on Electronic resources.
  3. Click on Databases by Subject.
  4. Enter your Borrower ID (14-digit number under the bar code).
  5. Enter your PIN (last four digits of your Social Security Number).
  6. Click the Log on button.

Circulating materials are available to check out for a three-week period to faculty, staff, and currently registered students who hold a valid PHSC library card. Items may be renewed two times for a total of nine weeks. Reference books and periodicals cannot be checked out. Audiovisual materials can be checked out by students for viewing in the library.

 

 

Borrowing Materials

 

  • Any item in the Circulation, Fiction, Young Adult, and Leisure collection may be checked out.
  • Books may be borrowed for three-week periods.
  • Borrowed books may be renewed twice.
  • Videos, journals, magazines, reference books, and microfiche may be used only in the library.
  • Reserve materials are available at the Circulation Desk for use in the library.
  • Library patrons are personally responsible for returning on time all materials checked out on their card.
  • PHSC does not charge overdue fines. Students who do not return library material will have holds placed on their record. They will not be able to register for classes, receive financial aid, or obtain transcripts until the holds are resolved at the library.

Renewing Books

 

Borrowed books may be renewed online at http://www.phsc.edu/library/.

  1. Books must be renewed prior to the due date.
  2. Click on My Account (renew books online).
  3. Enter your Borrower ID (14-digit number under the bar code).
  4. Enter your PIN (last four digits of your Social Security Number).
  5. Click the Log on button.

Leisure Collection

 

The Leisure Collection is comprised of a rotating group of popular and leisure reading titles and audiobooks that the library rents. This allows PHSC to offer direct access to the latest popular fiction and non-fiction.

Leisure books and audiobooks are shelved separately. The Leisure books are recognizable by the light green stripe at the bottom of the spine. The audiobooks are shelved with the Playaways. They can be checked out for three-week periods and renewed twice.

Playaway©

Pre-Loaded Digital Audio Player

 

Playaway is a simple way to listen to audio on the go. Each Playaway comes with the entire audiobook already pre-loaded and a battery to make it play. Simply plug in earphones and enjoy.

You can easily navigate back and forth through chapters, and it automatically remembers where you stopped listening.

Playaways are shelved separately and can be checked out for three-week periods and renewed twice.

Intercampus loans can be made using the PHSC library catalog. Requested items are sent via a courier to the PHSC campus selected and are usually received within two days. 

 

Interlibrary loan

Books and articles not available in the library collections of PHSC may be requested through interlibrary loan. There is no charge for this service unless a fee is assessed by the lending institution. Inquire at the Circulation Desk for more information.

Computers are available for use within the library. These computers offer Internet, e-mail, and Microsoft Office access.

The library provides black and white photocopiers and networked printers.  Students may use their PHSC ID cards in all copiers and printers. The charge is 10¢ per page. A machine is available within each library to add money to your card. If you do not have a PHSC ID, a Pay-for-Print card can be purchased for $1.00. There is a 50¢ charge for the card and 50¢ will be added to the card. The machine only accepts cash. You can also have any campus college store place money on your card.

Loading ...

Summer Hours

Summer hours Monday to Thursday 8 am to 7:30 pm
 

 

Video