Search the Library Catalog for eBooks
The most frequently-used databases
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination delivers new clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning modules.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.
Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Provides information on approximately 140,000 authors from a wide range of literary disciplines and time frames as well as plot summaries, synopses, and overviews of their works - from antiquity to present day.
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects — from Public Health to Buddhist Ethics, Soft Matter to Classics, and Art History to Globalization. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge. With just under 700 titles and many more in development, as well as regularly updated new editions, the series is constantly evolving to reflect a contemporary readership. Whatever your area of study, whatever the topic that fascinates you, the series is an indispensable and accessible guide that will enrich your understanding.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. Our education team oversees all of the content that is created at Digital Theatre+, from exclusive video resources and interviews to detailed study guides, essays and lesson plans. On our platform, you and your students can access work from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the BBC, Frantic Assembly, BroadwayHD, the Lincoln Center Theater, the Old Vic, the Lyric Hammersmith, the Young Vic, the Stratford Festival, Complicité, Shakespeare's Globe, Gecko Theatre, the Donmar Warehouse, L.A. Theatre Works, the Liverpool Everyman, the Royal Opera House, the Almeida Theatre, the English Touring Theatre, the English National Ballet, and many more.
Kanopy showcases more than 30,000 titles, including award-winning documentaries and acclaimed films, rare and hard-to-find titles, and classic films. Many of these titles have public performance rights (PPR).
NOTE: To use the Kanopy App you will need to create a personal Kanopy login. If you ALREADY have a Kanopy app with another library you can add Pasco-Hernando as another library to that app. Faculty- embedded videos will not play on a mobile device so please include direct links if you embed a video in your Canvas Course.
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.’s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on 15 of the world’s religions and traditional spiritual practices, quickly guiding users to information on important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals.
Oxford World’s Classics online provides access to over 350 novels and other writings from the 18th, 19th and 20th century, from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, to expert translations such as Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, Émile Zola’s Germinal, and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, to essential texts such as Charles Darwin’s The Origin of Species and Olaudah Equiano’s The Interesting Narrative.
Each edition uses an authenticated and reliable text, with full notes on the origins of the work, ensuring every OWC provides the most accurate representation of the work. Each OWC online is then enveloped with the best possible scholarship through an extensive introduction, supplementary material, perceptive commentary, and essential background reading.
Writer’s Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this indispensable online resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay. An in-depth grammar section defines grammatical terms and gives examples of use, while another section explores writing style. Writing resources teach users how best to revise their work, and the intuitive design allows users to find relevant information quickly through customizable searches and browsing.
