LibGuides: Nursing Research Guide: Web Resources

Useful Websites for Students: Health

ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry This Web site helps clinicians identify systematic reviews, the preferred method for assembling the best available scientific evidence, through our database and provides appraisal of the evidence through our critical summaries
Center for Disease Control Division for Oral Health Information from the Center for Disease Control related to oral and dental health
Dental Health Dental Health information from the National Institute of Health
dhnet: National Center for Dental Hygiene Research & Practice The DHNetwork was created for all those interested in research, from the novice or beginner just getting interested in research through those with extensive research experience.
National Institute for Dental and Craniofacial Research The mission of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) is to improve oral, dental and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information.

AIDSInfo AIDSinfo is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project that offers the latest federally approved information on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment and prevention, and medical practice guidelines for people living with HIV/AIDS, their families and friends, health care providers, scientists, and researchers.
American Sexual Health Association ASHA is recognized by the public, patients, providers, and policy makers for developing and delivering accurate, medically reliable information about STIs. Public and college health clinics across the United States order ASHA's educational pamphlets and books to give to clients and students. Community-based organizations depend on ASHA, too, to help communicate about risk, transmission, prevention, testing, and treatment.
The Bad Bug Book 2nd Edition The Bad Bug Book 2nd Edition, released in 2012, provides current information about the major known agents that cause foodborne illness.
Brill COVID-19 Collection
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Clinical Diabetes The mission of Clinical Diabetes is to provide primary care providers and all clinicians involved in the care of people with diabetes with information on advances and state-of-the-art care for people with diabetes. Clinical Diabetes is also a forum for discussing diabetes-related problems in practice, medical-legal issues, case studies, digests of recent research, and patient education materials.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics This online collection offers important historical perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology today and contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases.
Diseases and Conditions A to Z Index Information from the Center for Disease Control
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center includes expert, curated information for the research and health community on SARS-CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus) and COVID-19 (the disease). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients.
Flu.gov Flu.gov provides comprehensive government-wide information on seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird) and pandemic influenza for the general public, health and emergency preparedness professionals, policy makers, government and business leaders, school systems, and local communities.
Food Safety Each year, 1 in 6 Americans (or 48 million people) gets sick from and 3,000 die of foodborne diseases. Reducing foodborne illness by just 10% would keep 5 million Americans from getting sick each year. Preventing a single fatal case of E. coli O157 infection would save an estimated $7 million.
The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.
National Cancer Institute The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is one of 11 agencies that compose the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The NCI, established under the National Cancer Institute Act of 1937, is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training. The National Cancer Act of 1971 broadened the scope and responsibilities of the NCI and created the National Cancer Program. Over the years, legislative amendments
National Eye Institute The National Eye Institute’s mission is to "conduct and support research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to blinding eye diseases, visual disorders, mechanisms of visual function, preservation of sight, and the special health problems and requirements of the blind."
National Heart and Lung Institute The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) provides global leadership for a research, training, and education program to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood diseases and enhance the health of all individuals so that they can live longer and more fulfilling lives.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases. For more than 60 years, NIAID research has led to new therapies, vaccines, diagnostic tests, and other technologies that have improved the health of millions of people in the United States and around the world.
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases The mission of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases is to support research into the causes, treatment, and prevention of arthritis and musculoskeletal and skin diseases; the training of basic and clinical scientists to carry out this research; and the dissemination of information on research progress in these diseases.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases The health information here is informed by NIDDK research, reviewed by doctors, and provided to help you understand the diseases and conditions you or your loved ones may face.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke The mission of NINDS is to reduce the burden of neurological disease - a burden borne by every age group, by every segment of society, by people all over the world.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) is one of the Institutes that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIH is the Federal government's focal point for the support of biomedical research. NIH's mission is to uncover new knowledge that will lead to better health for everyone. Simply described, the goal of NIH research is to acquire new knowledge to help prevent, detect, diagnose, and treat disease and disability.
Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) Program The Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) Program, is a premier source for cancer statistics in the United States. We collect information on incidence, prevalence and survival from specific geographic areas representing 28 percent of the US population and compile reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire country. Our site is intended for anyone interested in US cancer statistics or cancer surveillance methods.

Environmental Health Information from the Center for Disease Control

Emergency Preparedness and Response The CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response website is CDC’s primary source of information and resources for preparing for and responding to public health emergencies. This site continues to keep the public informed about public health emergencies and provides the information needed to protect and save lives
First Aid Information to help you during a medical emergency from the Mayo Clinic.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), complementing the biomedical research mission of its sister agency, the National Institutes of Health. AHRQ is a home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research such as quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, clinical practice and technology assessment, and health care organization
The American Hospital Directory® The American Hospital Directory® provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com® hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors. AHD® is not affiliated with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and is not a source for AHA Data. Our data are evidence-based and derived from the most definitive sources.
BioMed Central Ltd. BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medical journals, current reports, and meeting abstracts.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC.gov is CDC's primary online communication channel. Annually, there are close to 500 million page views to the site, averaging 41 million page views per month. CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on: •Data and Statistics •Diseases and Conditions •Emergencies and Disasters •Environmental Health •Healthy Living •Injury, Violence and Safety •Life Stages and Populations •Travelers' Health •Workplace Safety an
Electronic Texts in the History of Medicine With the collaboration of Richard H. Siderits, M.D., of the Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital at Hamilton, New Jersey, the Historical Library is making available on the web several popular medical texts from the 15th through 18th centuries. This project was conceived and begun by Dr. Siderits in 1994, with the assistance of a project team. Using rare books provided by the Historical Library, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University, Dr. Siderits converted the full texts to electronic form through keying or scanning. The texts selected for this ongoing project have been primarily works of popular medicine and pharmacy in English.
Europe PubMed Central Europe PMC is at the heart of open science. We partner with other organizations to build robust public tools to provide access to open content and data, and to advance life sciences research.
FastStats FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.
Global Health Observatory The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Go Ask Alice! Alice! is not one person, but a team. The Go Ask Alice! site is supported by a team of Columbia University health promotion specialists, health care providers, and other health professionals, along with a staff of information and research specialists and writers.
HealthFinder.gov Healthfinder.gov, a government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
Health Services Research & Public Information Programs Integrates resources for research and practice
Healthy Lifestyle Information and tools for a healthy lifestyle from the Mayo Clinic.
Healthy Living Information from the Center for Disease Control
Household Products Database This database links over 15,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent population health research center at UW Medicine, part of the University of Washington, that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them.
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Guideline Clearinghouse NGC is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America's Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).
National Library of Medicine Digital Collection Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and videos. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources.
NIH Health Information Health Information from the National Institute of Health
Public Health Genomics The CDC Office of Public Health Genomics provides timely and credible information for the effective and responsible translation of genomics research into population health benefits.
PubMed PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions.
PubMed Central® (PMC) PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset The PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database, 1999-2010, which was a collaboration between the two U.S. government agencies, ODS and United States Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library.
RWJF DataHub The RWJF DataHub tracks state-level data and allows users to customize and visualize facts and figures on key health and health care topics.
World Health Organization WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

America’s Health Rankings America’s Health Rankings is a longstanding platform that builds on United Health Foundation’s work to help draw attention to the cornerstones of public health and better understand the health of various populations.
CDC Data and Statistics byTopic A collection of links to CDC data on a variety of health related topics.
CDC Vital Signs The CDC Vital Signs monthly report was launched in 2010. It includes a MMWR Early Release, a graphic fact sheet and website, a media release, and social media tools. Most of the materials are available in English and Spanish.
CDC Wonder WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
Morbitity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
National Center for Health Statistics The National Center for Health Statistics' website, is a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.

GeroNurseOnline GeronurseOnline.org is the official geriatric nursing Web site of the American Nurses Association (ANA). It was developed through the Nurse Competence in Aging initiative, to provide information regarding nursing care of older adults.
Nursing World This website for the American Nurses Association offers lots of up to date news on the world of nursing.
SkillSTAT This site is full of learning tools and a great library. Several learning tools developed by SkillStat are freely available here in demo formats. The ECG Simulator and the ACLS STAT tools are used by over 1 million professionals today.

Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center The Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center (BHNRC) is the largest of USDA's human nutrition research facilities and the home of the first human nutrition research conducted by USDA, dating back to the late 1890's.
ChooseMyPlate.gov Eating healthy is a journey shaped by many factors, including our stage of life, situations, preferences, access to food, culture, traditions, and the personal decisions we make over time. All your food and beverage choices count. MyPlate offers ideas and tips to help you create a healthier eating style that meets your individual needs and improves your health. - See more at: http://www.choosemyplate.gov/MyPlate#sthash.JivAemUc.dpuf
Codex Alimentarius The "Codex General Standard for Food Additives" (GSFA, Codex STAN 192-1995) sets forth the conditions under which permitted food additives may be used in all foods, whether or not they have previously been standardized by Codex. The Preamble of the GSFA contains additional information for interpreting the data. Users are encouraged to consult the Preamble when using this database.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans The Dietary Guidelines is designed for nutrition and health professionals to help all individuals ages 2 years and older and their families consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet.
How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label The following label-building skills are intended to make it easier for you to use nutrition labels to make quick, informed food choices that contribute to a healthy diet.
Nutrient Reports This directory contains reports of selected food items and nutrients in SR23. These reports are sorted either by food description or in descending order by nutrient content in terms of common household measures. The food items and weights in these reports are adapted from those in 2002 revision of Home and Garden Bulletin No. 72, Nutritive Value of Foods.
Nutrition.gov Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
The Nutrition Source The Nutrition Source aims to provide timely, evidence-based information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals, and the public. Launched in 2003 by the Department of Nutrition at Harvard School of Public Health, The Nutrition Source accepts no advertising or commercial sponsorship, nor does it endorse any particular products. Expert faculty from the Department of Nutrition and other invited experts review all content before it is posted on the site, and all content is
Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) The mission of the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.
Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity The Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity is a non-profit research and public policy organization devoted to improving the world’s diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma.
USDA National Nutrient Database Food nutrient database provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture

Dailymed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Drug Information Portal List of sources searched: Summary Summary of drug information (MedlinePlusDrug) Summary of dietary supplement and herbal information (MedlinePlusSupp) Summary of consumer health information (MedlinePlusTopics) Summary of HIV/AIDS treatment (AIDSinfo) Summary of the effect on breastfeeding (LactMed) Manufacturers drug label (DailyMed) Summary of ingredients and label information (Dietary Supplements Labels Database) Clinical trials (Clinical
Drugs@FDA Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name1 and generic drugs2 and therapeutic biological products3.
Drugs and Supplements A to Z Look up prescription and over-the-counter drug information from the Mayo Clinic.
Medline Plus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
MedWatch FDA gateway for finding clinically important safety information and reporting serious problems with human medical products.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
National Toxicology Program NTP is an interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology.

EngenderHealth EngenderHealth is a leading global women’s health organization committed to ensuring that every pregnancy is planned, every child is wanted, and every mother has the best chance at survival. In 20 countries around the world, we train health care professionals and partner with governments and communities to make high-quality family planning and sexual and reproductive health services available—today and for generations to come.
Jacobs Institute of Women’s Health The Jacobs Institute of Women's Health (JIWH) is a nonprofit organization working to improve health care for women through research, dialogue, and information dissemination
Our Bodies Ourselves (OBOS) Our Bodies Ourselves (OBOS), also known as the Boston Women’s Health Book Collective (BWHBC), is a nonprofit, public interest women’s health education, advocacy, and consulting organization.
Women's Health.gov The Office on Women’s Health (OWH) was established in 1991 within the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Our vision is to improve the health and sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls.

Nursing Research Guide: Web Resources

Useful Websites for Students: Health

Resources

Interesting Blogs