Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog and Databases
When logging in to the Library's databases or catalog the login information is your PHSC E-mail address and password.
When logging in to My Account in the library catalog Primo VE, choose the SSO - PHSC portal option.
Lit Finder (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to three databases: Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay/Speech/Play Finder.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on approximately 140,000 authors from a wide range of literary disciplines and time frames as well as plot summaries, synopses, and overviews of their works - from antiquity to present day.
Literature Resource Center - LRC (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. Unlike many resources, this database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres. Other features new to Bloom’s Literary Reference Online include the addition of new Facts On File titles, redesigned browse and keyword search options, a timeline of world literature, and a special feature on Harold Bloom’s Western Literary Canon. Diverse and authoritative, this database is sure to become a standard resource for all school and public libraries.
Books and Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Adapted from Gale's acclaimed What Do I Read Next? Print series, Books & Authors is specially designed to complement the browsing habits of today's Web user, integrating easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title or series, awards, and other criteria. An -if you like- search connects readers to the themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Salem Literature (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Salem Literature is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Purchasing printed reference delivers online access at no additional cost. Salem currently offers this service with our brand new Critical Insights series. Unlimited user access to titles.