New Books : Technology (includes Engineering, Auto Mechanics, Photography)

The Beginner's Guide to Hand Building is a friendly, contemporary take on the classic hand-building book-perfect for new and returning ceramic artists.

In this stunning exploration of identity through food, the blogger behind Little Fat Boy presents 80 recipes that are rooted in his childhood as a first-generation Taiwanese American growing up in the Midwest. "This book will transport you, it will make you cry (again and again), and it will delight you with flavor combinations that are both new and nostalgic."-Molly Yeh, cookbook author and Food Network host ONE OF THE TEN BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR- San Francisco Chronicle ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR- Bon Appetit, Epicurious In First Generation, Frankie Gaw of Little Fat Boy presents a tribute to Taiwanese home cooking. With dishes passed down from generations of family, Frankie introduces a deeply personal and essential collection of recipes inspired by his multicultural experience, melding the flavors of suburban America with the ingredients and techniques his parents grew up with. In his debut cookbook, Frankie will teach you to master bao, dumplings, scallion pancakes, and so much more through stunning visuals and intimate storytelling about discovering identity and belonging through cooking. Recipes such asLap Cheong Corn Dogs,Honey-Mustard Glazed Taiwanese Popcorn Chicken,Stir-Fried Rice Cakes with Bolognese,Cincinnati Chili with Hand Pulled Noodles,Bao Egg and Soy Glazed Bacon Sandwich, and Lionshead Big Mac exemplify the stunning creations born out of growing up with feet in two worlds. Through step-by-step photography and detailed hand-drawn illustrations, Frankie offers readers not just the essentials but endless creative new flavor combinations for the fundamentals of Taiwanese home cooking.

Transform your home into a haven of calm and achieve your ideal lifestyle with this inspirational visual guide featuring more than 100 photographs, from the Netflix star and #1 bestselling author of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.   "Encouraging readers to take an even more holistic and personal approach to curating their environments, [Marie] Kondo shares a visual guide featuring more than 100 photographs to inspire them to envision, and then create, more fulfilling and joyful lives."--J.P. Morgan's nextlist 2023 Inspired by the Japanese concept of kurashi, or "way of life," Kurashi at Home invites you to visualize your best life from the moment you wake up until the end of each day. By applying Marie Kondo's time-tested query--"Does it spark joy?"--to your mindset and behaviors, you are invited to take an even more holistic and personal approach to curating your environment by imagining what your life could look like full of connection and free from any limitations. This ideal vision then becomes a touchpoint that helps you make conscious, mindful choices--from how you use every corner of your living space to how you take advantage of every moment.   At its core, the KonMari philosophy focuses not on what to get rid of, but on what sparks joy in your life. In this inspirational visual guide, beautiful photographs and Kondo's unique suggestions empower you to embrace what you love about your life and then reflect it in your home, activities, and relationships, like creating a calm nook for working, scheduling weekly get-togethers with family or friends, or having relaxing nighttime rituals that promote a restful sleep.   Your newfound clarity will inspire you to clear out the unneeded clutter so you can appreciate the inviting spaces, treasured belongings, and peaceful moments that remain.

For one- or two-semester courses in Construction Methods and Materials and Design in Architecture.   Promoting comprehensive understanding in general and complex concepts in construction Exceptionally well-received and one of the most acclaimed university-level books on construction, Building Construction, Principles, Materials and Systems is a comprehensive and fully illustrated introduction to construction methods and materials. It's informed by a core philosophy that sufficient grounding in the principles and science of construction is the best way to equip today's designers and constructors to respond successfully to rapid changes in the built environment. By ensuring students are well-versed in the science and technology of materials and systems, the text aims to better prepare architects, engineers, and constructors to produce a resilient and sustainable built environment--a need that will grow with increasing urbanization across the globe.                                                                                                                                                                                  The science of building construction and design is evolving more quickly than ever before. The Third Edition of this outstanding text builds on the previous versions. It incorporates the latest updates available, features over one thousand new end-of-chapter problems, and now addresses common errors related to the topic. The organization of the text fosters a definitive understanding of general concepts before moving on to more complex concepts. Emphasizing a visual approach to learning, it includes original illustrations.

This volume explores cuisine in Israel, including the country's food culture history, important dishes, current food issues, and more. The evolution of Israeli food has been dependent on three major variables: the geography and climate of Israel, its ethnic mix and ethnic history (including religious influences, non-Jewish communities, and heavy immigration from around the world), and technical innovation that has enabled Israel to become a leader in agricultural technology. This book provides a comprehensive picture of Israeli food culture in the twenty-first century, examined on the basis of the various influences that created this particular culture. Such influences include the lengthy food history that can be traced to prehistory, including data from the Bible and Koran and archaeological evidence; as well as contemporary food practices that have emerged as a mix of influences from different ethnic groups. Modern Israeli food practices are the result of the sway of European, Middle Eastern, and other cultures, creating a cuisine that is marked by its blends. Main topics are accompanied by easy-to-follow recipes. The book serves as an introduction to daily life in Israel as well as the evolution of food practices in a relatively new country. Provides the reader with an overview of food as one aspect of Israeli culture Serves as a sample case of food culture analysis Discusses the food not only of the Jewish majority groups but also that of non-Jewish and Jewish minority groups and their mutual influences Notes the influences of two central institutions in Israeli society: conscript service in the army and collective food practices Provides readers with an understanding of the problems and benefits of Israeli food and how they are dealt with officially, technically, and unofficially Illustrates the discussion with local recipes

NATIONAL BESTSELLER From the leading theorist of the Metaverse comes the definitive account of the next internet: what the Metaverse is, what it will take to build it, and what it means for all of us. The term "Metaverse" is suddenly everywhere, from the front pages of national newspapers and the latest fashion trends to the plans of the most powerful companies in history. It is already shaping the policy platforms of the US government, the European Union, and the Chinese Communist Party. But what, exactly, is the Metaverse? As pioneering theorist and venture capitalist Matthew Ball explains, it is a persistent and interconnected network of 3D virtual worlds that will eventually serve as the gateway to most online experiences, and also underpin much of the physical world. For decades, these ideas have been limited to science fiction and video games, but they are now poised to revolutionize every industry and function, from finance and healthcare to education, consumer products, city planning, dating, and well beyond. Taking us on an expansive tour of the "next internet," Ball demonstrates that many proto-Metaverses are already here, such as Fortnite, Minecraft, and Roblox. Yet these offer only a glimpse of what is to come. Ball presents a comprehensive definition of the Metaverse before explaining the technologies that will power it--and the breakthroughs that will be necessary to fully realize it. He addresses the governance challenges the Metaverse entails; investigates the role of Web3, blockchains, and NFTs; and predicts Metaverse winners and losers. Most importantly, he examines many of the Metaverse's almost unlimited applications. The internet will no longer be at arm's length; instead, it will surround us, with much of our lives, labor, and leisure taking place inside the Metaverse. Bringing clarity and authority to a frequently misunderstood concept, Ball foresees trillions of dollars in new value--and the radical reshaping of society.

I am very much aware that it is an act of extreme rashness to attempt to write an elementary book about structures. Indeed it is only when the subject is stripped of its mathematics that one begins to realize how difficult it is to pin down and describe those structural concepts which are often called' elementary'; by which I suppose we mean 'basic' or 'fundamental'. Some of the omis sions and oversimplifications are intentional but no doubt some of them are due to my own brute ignorance and lack of under­ standing of the subject. Although this volume is more or less a sequel to The New Science of Strong Materials it can be read as an entirely separate book in its own right. For this reason a certain amount of repetition has been unavoidable in the earlier chapters. I have to thank a great many people for factual information, suggestions and for stimulating and sometimes heated discussions. Among the living, my colleagues at Reading University have been generous with help, notably Professor W. D. Biggs (Professor of Building Technology), Dr Richard Chaplin, Dr Giorgio Jeronimidis, Dr Julian Vincent and Dr Henry Blyth; Professor Anthony Flew, Professor of Philosophy, made useful suggestions about the last chapter. I am also grateful to Mr John Bartlett, Consultant Neurosurgeon at the Brook Hospital. Professor T. P. Hughes of the University of the West Indies has been helpful about rockets and many other things besides. My secretary, Mrs Jean Collins, was a great help in times of trouble. Mrs Nethercot of Vogue was kind to me about dressmaking. Mr Gerald Leach and also many of the editorial staff of Penguins have exercised their accustomed patience and helpfulness. Among the dead, l owe a great deal to Dr Mark Pryor - lately of Trinity College, Cambridge - especially for discussions about biomechanics which extended over a period of nearly thirty years. Lastly, for reasons which must surely be obvious, l owe a humble oblation to Herodotus, once a citizen of Halicamassus.

A comprehensive collection of stitch patterns from knitwear designer Wendy BernardStitch dictionaries are one of the most valuable references on a knitter's bookshelf, holding all the information needed to begin a project, hone your skills, and expand your knitting mastery. In the truest sense, a stitch dictionary is a resource and wealth of information--filled with the basics to get you started, the classics you rely on, and even some new stitches that stoke your creativity. In her newest book, The Ultimate All-Around Stitch Dictionary, Wendy Bernard packs all the stitch patterns you could ever wish for into a single, handy new volume. Featuring all the great content from the Up, Down, All-Around and the Knitting All Around stitch dictionaries, Bernard presents patterns for top down, bottom up, back and forth, and in the round knitting. With all of the stitches you want in one place along with new patterns places, this book is among the must-have dictionaries out there--and a new format and lower price point make it even more irresistible.

With abundant, full-color diagrams and an easy-to-understand writing style, the DEWALT CARPENTRY AND FRAMING COMPLETE HANDBOOK, Second Edition, is an ideal resource to help today�s students master the basics of carpentry and framing. The text is logically organized to provide a comprehensive, yet concise, introduction to the trade, from foundations and floors to walls, rafters, and roofs--as well as special topics such as stairs, railings, porches, and decks. In addition, students can take advantage of the free DEWALT Mobile Pro� app, a construction calculator with integrated reference materials and access to hundreds of additional calculations as add-ons. To learn more, visit dewalt.com/mobilepro.

The updated and highly illustrated guide to understanding how just about everything in your house works! The revised and updated third edition of How Your House Works is a hands-on guide that gives you the low-down on why your faucet is leaking, your dishwasher is overflowing, or your furnace is on the fritz. This comprehensive book is your reference to virtually everything in your house with richly illustrated explanations of electrical systems, heating and air conditioning, plumbing, major household appliances, foundation, framing, doors, and windows. This must-have book answers most questions homeowners face when repairs are needed or when a new house or addition is in your future. How Your House Works is filled with easy-to-understand illustrations that show how things should be put together and how they function. The book also highlights issues outside the house as well as clock thermostats, ventless gas heaters, moisture and mold, and passive solar heating. Using the illustrations and the author's clear explanations might save you the expense of calling a professional. This invaluable guide:  Offers a colorful resource to home electrical systems, HVAC, plumbing, major household appliances, foundation, framing, doors and windows, sustainability, and much more Includes easy-to-follow information for troubleshooting problems Contains dozens of new full-color illustrations Presents new chapters on solar power and smart home technologies Helps homeowners save money on many common household repairs Written for homeowners with little or no knowledge of home maintenance or repair, How Your House Works is your illustrated and updated guide to understanding how appliances, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and more work!

The bestselling structural design reference, fully updated and revised Simplified Engineering for Architects and Builders is the go-to reference on structural design, giving architects and designers a concise introduction to the structures commonly used for typical buildings. The clear, accessible presentation is designed to give you the essential engineering information you need without getting bogged down in excess math, making this book an ideal reference for busy design professionals. This new 12th edition has been completely revised to reflect the latest standards and practices. The instructor site includes a complete suite of teaching resources, including an instructor's manual. Structural design is an essential component of the architect's repertoire, and engineering principles are at the foundation of every sound structure. You need to know the physics, but you don't necessarily need to know all of the math. This book gives you exactly what you need without losing you in a tangle of equations, so you can quickly grasp and apply the material. Understand fundamental concepts like forces, loading, and reactions Learn how to design for wood, steel, or concrete construction Study structural design standards and develop sound structural systems Determine the best possible solutions to difficult design challenges The industry-leading reference for over 80 years, Simplified Engineering for Architects and Builders is the definitive guide to practical structural design.

Learn how to make both minor and major DIY repairs and improvements that will save you money! No need to hire a plumber, especially in emergencies when you need an immediate fix. This best-selling guide on plumbing will teach you everything you need to know, from understanding how plumbing systems work and fixing a leaky faucet to making renovations, soldering copper, installing fixtures, and so much more. Featuring detailed how-to diagrams, code-compliant techniques, tips on how to spot and improve outdated or dangerous materials in your home plumbing system, and so much more, this newly updated edition features new code-compliant techniques for 2021, plus a new section on air gap fittings.

Today's most comprehensive course in residential construction. The Complete Visual Guide to Building a House not only lives up to its name, but the detailed illustrations put this reference in a league of its own. It's your single source for reliable instruction in building a house from foundation to finishing touches -- and it's a beautiful book as well. An essential reference for builders, carpenters, and homeowners! Find everything you need in one easy-to-navigate guide that covers all the bases: Building the structure: foundations; floors; walls; ceilings; raftered and trussed roofs Closing the house to weather: roofing; installing windows, doors, siding and trim; controlling moisture Finishing the house: wall and floor coverings; hanging interior doors; installing trim and cabinets; building stairs Expert step-by-step instruction and detailed illustrations. The Compete Visual Guide to Building a House combines the expertise of builder-author John Carroll with over 1,200 full-color drawings by illustrator Chuck Lockhart. Finally, a step-by-step guide that provides a complete course in residential carpentry and construction from two pros who, together, have over 65 years of experience in the building trades.  Eliminate guesswork and avoid costly missteps. Building a house is a complex and challenging undertaking that requires knowing what needs to be done at every critical step  - and that's exactly what you will find in The Complete Visual Guide to Building a House. With this guide in hand, you'll be armed with the right information and clear illustrations whenever you need them.

No eggs, no dairy, no problem--vegan desserts are as decadent and showstopping as ever in this debut cookbook. Creator of The Little Blog of Vegan, Holly Jade has made plant-based baking easier and better than ever for her growing audience. Her unabashedly decadent treats never sacrifice flavor and texture, from cakes and cookies to pastry and puddings. Now, with Holly's contemporary style and an arsenal of dynamic desserts, The Essential Book of Vegan Bakes has a recipe for every craving, whether readers are vegan veterans or newcomers to the plant-based scene. Here, Holly veganizes classics like Shortbread, Key Lime Pie, and Hot Cross Buns. But she also provides unique originals like her Neapolitan Celebration Cake and Mini Passionfruit Pavlovas. Holly's recipes are accompanied by her own gorgeous photography, as well as specialized tips on baking with vegan ingredients, from aquafaba to coconut cream. Colorful, lively, and utterly irresistible, The Essential Book of Vegan Bakes is a must-have cookbook for the vegan shelf.

If you're in need of info on framing construction, look no further. This newly revised and updated edition of our classic visual handbook is loaded with up-to-date code information, the latest material advice, and detailed construction methods. Building on the success of earlier editions--which have sold hundreds of thousands of copies--accomplished architect and teacher Rob Thallon delivers on the details you need to get the job done right. Covers a broad range of projects. Whether you're setting a foundation, erecting a partition wall, or flashing a window, you'll find information on the project in this book. The book's major categories include: Footings and Foundations Beams, Joist Systems, and Subflooring Wall Framing, Bracing, and Sheathing Roof Framing, Flashing, and Insulation Exterior and Interior Stairs and Handrails Filled with 500+ meticulous drawings. There are well over a hundred new drawings in this updated edition that precisely explain best practices for energy-efficient construction, advanced framing techniques, how to control moisture in wood-framing, installation information for new building materials, and more. Whether you're a builder, architect, or homeowner, you'll find this up-to-the-minute resource is the perfect visual aid to help you tackle a wide range of framing projects with confidence.

Building a home is a complicated, precise, and labor-intensive process. From drawing a design to selecting the site to laying the foundation, building the frame, installing the plumbing, wiring, HVAC, and everything in between, there are countless opportunities for something to go wrong. So how does a homeowner,  builder, or remodeler make sure that their project stays on track every step of the way? Having a copy of The Visual Handbook of Building and Remodeling, 4th Edition on hand is a great place to start. This new edition has 48 pages of brand-new material--including new chapters on solar power and best-practice insulating--as well as the latest code information and updated sections on framing, sheathing, air sealing, and heating and cooling, enabling the reader to visualize exactly how to tackle any building project or problem. With 25 chapters, 688 pages, and a whopping 1,700 full-color illustrations and 300 quick-reference charts covering all aspects of home design and construction, this tome is the quintessential resource for home builders. As an added bonus, you can use it to hammer a nail if you leave your toolbelt at home.

Florida's Fabled Inns, lavishly illustrated, highlights the state's appeal as a tourist mecca from the 1820s, soon after the United States purchased Florida from Spain, up to the early 1950s.

This isn't your ordinary bread book. From artisan bread making, to savory breakfasts and brunch (hello, ultimate cinnamon roll!), to decadent but simple desserts, Baking with The Bread Lady takes you on a journey through recipes and stories, inviting you to come together to create community and memories around food. In Baking with The Bread Lady, popular baker and gifted teacher Sarah Gonzalez--lovingly known as "The Bread Lady"--shares her love for the art of baking that grew from family tradition and the popularity of her Spring Hill, Tennessee, bakery. Sarah has discovered that while people crave comfort food, it's their greater longing for community and belonging that serve as the magic ingredients that give these recipes a greater purpose. Beginners and seasoned bakers alike will salivate over: 100 original recipes with beautiful photos Practical tips to learn to love baking from scratch New and creative baking concepts built on centuries of tradition Classic recipes and tricks to pass on to the next generation Baking "hacks" such as how to store, thaw, and reheat bread Baking with The Bread Lady is approachable for first-time bakers but also includes more advanced recipes for those looking for a challenge, making it a great gift for budding bakers, makers, and anyone eager to develop their baking skills. Whether your gathering place is your kitchen, your neighborhood, or a video call with family far away, connecting over food creates wonderful (and tasty) memories and lasting relationships. Baking with The Bread Lady will entertain you through inspiring and fun stories such as: "The Care and Feeding of Neighbors" "Happy Eggs" "The Process of Invention" How her 170-year-old gingerbread recipe came to be Fall in love with baking for yourself, for your family, and for others with these creative and tasty recipes, photos, and stories.

Conjuring up wooden wands might seem like a magical and mysterious process, but the Compendium of Wooden Wand Making Techniques is here to show you how simple it can be! In the first-ever guide to making wands, you'll learn how to hand carve, power carve, wood turn, and scroll saw 20 unique projects that are sure to delight and manage mischief. Be inspired with a gallery of beloved staff-carrying and wand-wielding characters from the infamous Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings series - from Albus Dumbledore, Hermione Granger, and Severus Snape to Gandalf, Saruman, and several others. Woven throughout these gallery pages are images of wands you can make in the book that are thematically similar - but distinct from - these iconic wands and staffs! Also provided is a Wand Sketchbook section as a jump-off point for you to design wands of your own, along with areas to include your original wand's name, wood type, length, core, and special skills. From there, five wand projects for each woodworking technique are presented with step-by-step instructions, coordinating photography, and patterns. A complete project collection that's truly the first of its kind, this book is a must-have source of inspiration that belongs in any muggle's and woodworker's library who has a love for all things fiction and fantasy!

Francis Mallmann is an Argentine grill master. Author of Seven Fires and Mallmann on Fire, he is known for his primal style of live-fire meat cookery - and until recently, he treated vegetables as a condiment or side dish. Now, in the highly anticipated The Green Fire, Mallmann shares his recipes and secrets for perfect grilled vegetables and fruits, creating dishes with the same elemental, rugged style for which he is world-renowned. With the goal of creating dishes that are better for our health and for the health of our planet, Mallmann uses the same live-fire techniques he has mastered in cooking meats to transform every vegetable into a dish as satisfying as a prime-cut steak. Pineapples are hung over a fire with butcher's twine, and beets are buried in its coals. Tomatoes are burnished on the cast-iron plancha to intensify their flavours. Whether slathered, seared, baked, blackened, or fried over the flames, Mallmann's fire-cooked vegetables are full of flavour and personality. Spring artichoke and fava salad, salt-baked beets with lemon confit, and cabbage steaks with a mustard-fennel crust are just a few of the stars. And desserts and cocktails are included, too! Evocative photos showcase the food, the fire, and Mallmann's magical setting in South America. The Green Fire is the book fans of Francis Mallmann's have been waiting for: the art of grilling with vegetables.

* The complete guide to mastering the technical challenges of lighting and flash * Explores locations, subjects and styles, and all the technical skills, tools and tips needed to master them * Written by multi award-winning photographer Richard Bradbury Aimed at the serious amateur, this is a practical guide to achieving professional results in digital photography. Light is at the very heart of photography and plays a fundamental role in creating successful images. Not only does light affect brightness, it also determines tone, mood, atmosphere, texture, colour and luminosity. Mastering Lighting & Flash Photography contains everything you need to know about controlling and manipulating light to capture the beauty of the world around you in your own signature style. Written and photographed by a multi award-winning photographer, the book describes and demonstrates all the key topics: from understanding light and how to use it; through choosing the best kit and mastering the essential techniques; to different forms of flash photography and studio lighting, tips from leading professionals, and elevating your prints in post-production. .

Diane Von Furstenberg, Vivienne Westwood, Sarah Burton, Kate and Laura Mulleavy, Donna Karan, and Iris van Herpen are among the great women designers to emerge in the last few decades. We now live in an age when no one would dare call them "that little seamstress," as Paul Poiret disdainfully referred to Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel more than a century ago. The Women Who Revolutionized Fashion highlights early innovative and contemporary designers working in a variety of materials and genres. This unique volume profiles widely-known early fashion vanguards such as Jeanne Lanvin, Callot Soeurs, and Madeleine Vionnet, as well as underrepresented women who revolutionised fashion from the mid-1700s to the present. More than one hundred works - including street fashion, ready-to-wear, traditional, and haute couture - celebrate women designers' concepts of dress and beauty. Through the work of more than fifty individual style makers, The Women Who Revolutionized Fashion illuminates issues of representation, creativity, and distinctiveness, as well as the labor challenges surrounding fashion today.

"Master leather artisans Tony and Kay Laier introduce you to the basics of leather preparation, and show you how to use stamps, punches, cutters, and other essential tools. They provide expert tips on edge finishing methods, and take you step-by-step through a traditional floral carving project. From forming, moulding, and embossing leather to creative stitching, lacing, and braiding, this book will teach you all of the skills you'll need to make beautiful belts, wallets, purses, holsters, cases, jewelry, home accessories, and more."--Publisher's description.

Learn to make your digital photos *pop* with easy-to-follow help using AI-powered software from Adobe With no prior photography or editing experience necessary, Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic For Dummies delivers a must-have walkthrough for taking your photos to the next level using Adobe's powerful consumer software. You'll learn the fundamentals of opening your pictures, managing your photo library, and fixing common problems--like redeye and poor lighting--before jumping into more advanced topics, like creating slideshows and troubleshooting problems. The perfect place to begin learning how to improve your family photos, Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic For Dummies also helps you discover: How to take control of and organize your photo library How to apply common artificial intelligence-powered photo enhancements with the click of a mouse Ways to share your photos with the world, both digitally and on paper The premier jumping-off point for aspiring photo editors everywhere, this book is a can't-miss resource for anyone who wants to make the most of their digital photo collection and for professionals who want to expand their design skillset by learning Adobe Lightroom Classic.

When the filming stops, the real video production work begins Ever wonder how your favorite video creators regularly put out such slick content? They're probably using Adobe Premiere Pro CC, a go-to video production app for both professional and amateur video creators. Adobe Premiere Pro CC For Dummies walks you through each step of editing and producing slick and stylish videos that stand up to what the pros post. From transferring your digital movie files from your camera or phone to your computer all the way to uploading your latest creation to YouTube or the web, this book has the info you need to bring your ideas to life. If you're new to video production, you can begin at the beginning with the handbook's user-friendly guide to the basics of setting clips on the timeline and making them flow seamlessly. Or, if you've already got a few videos under your belt, you can skip right to the more advanced material, like special effects and handy tricks of the trade. You'll also find: Instruction on joining video clips into a continuous final product, complete with transitions, special effects, and more Advice on improving sound, getting rid of color errors, and customizing the look of your videos with filters and aftereffects Straightforward guides to adding voiceovers and soundtracks to your videos So, if you're new to Adobe Premiere Pro CC--or digital video editing in general--Adobe Premiere Pro CC For Dummies is the first and last resource you'll need to start editing like a pro.

The Queen of Latina Style, Kathy Cano Murillo, is back with fantastic art and craft projects-including brand-new ideas and previous favorites-in The New Crafty Chica Collection.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In her first cookbook, Bon Appétit and YouTube star of the show Gourmet Makes offers wisdom, problem-solving strategies, and more than 100 meticulously tested, creative, and inspiring recipes. IACP AWARD WINNER * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * Bon Appétit * NPR * The Atlanta Journal-Constitution * Salon * Epicurious "There are no 'just cooks' out there, only bakers who haven't yet been converted. I am a dessert person, and we are all dessert people."--Claire Saffitz Claire Saffitz is a baking hero for a new generation. In Dessert Person, fans will find Claire's signature spin on sweet and savory recipes like Babkallah (a babka-Challah mashup), Apple and Concord Grape Crumble Pie, Strawberry-Cornmeal Layer Cake, Crispy Mushroom Galette, and Malted Forever Brownies. She outlines the problems and solutions for each recipe--like what to do if your pie dough for Sour Cherry Pie cracks (patch it with dough or a quiche flour paste!)--as well as practical do's and don'ts, skill level, prep and bake time, step-by-step photography, and foundational know-how. With her trademark warmth and superpower ability to explain anything baking related, Claire is ready to make everyone a dessert person.

What can you do with your Instant Pot? A lot more than dinner! Here are 50 projects anyone can make--handmade soap, infused liqueurs, tie dye, and much more! The Instant Pot is no longer just for food! This revolutionary home appliance is taking DIY to a whole new level. After going viral with his discovery of how to make wine in the Instant Pot, and then writing Instant Pot Magic, chef and blogger David Murphy has curated an astounding collection of creative crafts and projects you can make in your Instant Pot! Break out your favorite appliance and everyday ingredients, and learn the insider tips and tricks to make the most of your Instant Pot. Projects include:   Handmade soaps and lotions Tie dye any clothing item Homemade lip balm Herb-infused olive oil Infused flavorful liqueurs Wax candle tutorial And more! These crafts and hacks could even double as homemade gifts!

This isn't your summer camp string art! String art is making a comeback with seemingly endless new designs, and author Jesse Drebach's modern, more flexible approach lets you methodically string away to your heart's content. This book is full of patterns--simple to more intricate designs--that help you quickly get to the fun part of the craft--the stringing! Jesse walks you through his tool room, and even includes tips on cutting and preparing the right size boards. He shares how to structure the nails using paper patterns and details several stringing techniques. DIY String Art includes simple geometrics, nature-inspired motifs worked on tree slices, zodiac signs, and even patterns for negative space string art where you fill in the entire board everywhere but inside the chosen motif. These are cool, urban designs, some with random string work, some with faceted sections and still others with specific string paths to achieve more uniform results, and they look amazing no matter where you hang them. Jesse's double-wrap technique lets you add pronounced details and even create a string frame--he's thought of, basically, everything you need to know to string a gallery of modern art!

Genetically Modified and Irradiated Food: Controversial Issues: Facts versus Perceptions explains the technologies used in these processes so they can be understood by those in general public health, scientific organizations, politicians and opinion makers/policymakers. The facts presented include a massive amount of scientific evidence that these technologies are safe and can be beneficial. Because the world is facing a future with an increasing number of people, new technologies are needed to ensure enough safe and healthy food, thus technologies that have the potential to dramatically increase the availability of safe and healthy food should be welcomed by everybody.

A practical and attractive handbook with more than 850 essential life skills to get anything done faster and easier The editors and scientists at Good Housekeeping and its lab, the Good Housekeeping Institute, share genius solutions and trusted, expert advice in this how-to guide to making life simpler. With chapters on the kitchen, organizing and cleaning, decorating, home maintenance, outdoor living, and entertaining and celebrating, this go-to resource offers step-by-step illustrated instructions, inspiring photos and sometimes surprising but always practical guidance to get things done. Plus, you'll save time and money and even have fun along the way. The 850+ skills include how to- . Store and make your own spice mixes . Clean your house in 15 minutes . Seal a drafty window . Remove water rings from your tables . Perk up a grocery-store bouquet . Sew a button . Plant an outdoor herb garden (and keep herbs fresh after they are picked!) . Make the perfect boiled egg . Uncork champagne . Cure a hangover and so much more! QR codes throughout the pages offer additional lessons and video instruction. Whatever home means to you, this book is brimming with invaluable know-how to keep your home in tip-top shape and to help you inject more fun and flair into your every day.

Crochet your own costumes, familiar creatures, and classic artifacts from the Harry Potter films in this follow up companion to the bestselling Harry Potter: Knitting Magic. Conjure the magic of the Wizarding World with your crochet hook with this deluxe collection of more than 20 official patterns for toys, keepsakes, and costume replicas inspired by the Harry Potter films.  A comprehensive, officially licensed guide to crocheting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Harry Potter: Crochet Wizardry includes projects for every skill level and a wide range of stitches and techniques featuring yarn expertly matched to the true colors used in the films. Harry Potter: Crochet Wizardry also includes behind-the-scenes facts and quotes from the films, as well as concept art and film stills to inspire your creativity and relive favorite movie moments. With beautiful full-color photography, step-by-step instructions, and clearly presented charts and schematics, Harry Potter: Crochet Wizardry is the ultimate crocheter's guide to the Wizarding World. 

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The authors of The Home Edit and stars of the Netflix series Get Organized with The Home Edit teach you how to apply their genius, holistic approach to your work life, on-the-go necessities, and technology. At home or on the go, you don't have to live like a minimalist to feel happy and calm. The Home Edit mentality is all about embracing your life--whether you're a busy mom, a roommate living with three, or someone who's always traveling for work. You just need to know how to set up a system that works for you. In the next phase of the home organizing craze, Clea Shearer and Joanna Teplin go beyond the pantry and bookshelf to show you how to contain the chaos in all aspects of your life, from office space and holiday storage to luggage and pet supplies. Get to know your organizing style, tailor it to your family's lifestyle, and lead the low-guilt life as you apply more genius ideas to every aspect of your life. Clea and Joanna are here to remind you that "it's okay to own things" in the quest for pretty and smart spaces. With The Home Edit Life, you'll soon be corralling phone cords, archiving old photos, arranging your phone apps by color, and packing your suitcase like a pro.

It's been said that the best camera is the one you have with you. These days, most of us are fortunate enough to carry a sophisticated pocket-sized camera with us everywhere we go. Yes, the iPhone has made each of us a photographer. In this book, author, photographer, and editor Barbara A. Lynch-Johnt teaches you the basics of photography and how to optimize your iPhone camera's settings, rely on free and low-cost powerful apps, and hit the open roads to capture creative landscape photographs wherever you go. You'll learn how to conceptualize the scene to create stronger, more artistic images, how to shoot special interest scenes like sunrise, sunset, snowfall, waterfalls, black & white images, night and low-light photographs, and much more. Novice photographers and seasoned pros who are new to iPhone photography will find, with the tips in this book, they are armed and ready to create iPhone landscape art.

"This volume explores our cultural celebration of food, blending lobster festivals, politicians roadside eats, reality show "chef showdowns," and gravity-defying cakes into a deeper exploration of why people find so much joy in eating"--"In 1961, Julia Child introduced the American public to an entirely new, joy-infused approach to cooking and eating food. In doing so, she set in motion a food renaissance that is still in full bloom today. Over the last six decades, food has become an increasingly more diverse, prominent, and joyful point of cultural interest. The Joy of Eating discusses in detail the current golden age of food in contemporary American popular culture. Entries explore the proliferation of food-themed television shows, documentaries, and networks; the booming popularity of celebrity chefs; unusual, exotic, decadent, creative, and even mundane food trends; and cultural celebrations of food such as festivals and mascots and in music. The volume provides depth and academic gravity by tying each entry into broader themes and larger contexts-in relation to a food-themed reality show, for example, discussing the shows popularity in direct relation to a significant economic event, providing a brief history behind popular foods and types of cuisines, and tracing the evolution of our understanding of diet and nutrition, among other explications"--

The Organic Artist for Kids teaches kids how to make their own art supplies, as well as beautiful art, from the natural world.

Winner of the 2022 Spur Award for Best First Nonfiction Book from Western Writers of America Wyoming's colorful story of water management illuminates the powerful forces that impact water use in the rural American West. The state's rich history of managing this valuable natural resource provides insights and lessons for the twenty-first-century American West as it faces drought and climate change. Public Waters shows how, as popular hopes and dreams meet tough terrain, a central idea that has historically structured water management can guide water policy for Western states today. Drawing on forty years as a journalist with training in water law and economics, Anne MacKinnon paints a lively picture of the arcane twists in the notable record of water law in Wyoming. She maintains that other Western states should examine how local people control water and that states must draw on historical understandings of water as a public resource to find effective approaches to essential water issues in the West.

More than 75 delicious, nourishing, and mostly plant-based recipes for peak athletic performance, from the triathlete and nutrition coach behind the popular Running on Veggies blog After finishing treatment for stage III Hodgkin's lymphoma at the age of fifteen, Lottie Bildirici fell in love with running and completely transformed her lifestyle with a mindful approach to eating and exercise. As an Adidas nutrition coach, she has led teams around the globe to healthier mindsets by leveraging their diets for enhanced performance. In her first book, she shares these recipes and tips to help fellow athletes eat well, feel well, and live life to its fullest potential. Running on Veggies contains more than seventy-five mostly plant-based, dairy-free, meat-free (with five pescatarian) recipes to maximize workouts and enhance nutrition to perform at peak levels. Indulgent recipes that leave you feeling satisfied and energized include Almond Berry Overnight Oats, Energized Mocha Crunch Smoothie, Thai Crunch Salad, Pesto Farro Risotto with Sugar Snap Peas and Asparagus, Date Bites, and many more. In addition to Bildirici's recipes, Running on Veggies also features recipes contributed by world-class athletes including Kara Goucher, Colleen Quigley, Emma Coburn, and many more. With pre-run and recovery recipes, a two-week peak performance plan, and supplemental sidebars throughout, it's designed to be inclusive of all levels of athletic performance, from novice to expert. Running on Veggies is the guide athletes and the rest of us need to fuel up and kickstart a lifetime of healthy habits, one delicious meal at a time.

This is the book for answering all your tool questions, gaining knowledge before hiring a professional, or simply flipping through just for the joy of learning something new about the objects that shape our world. This expansive guide catalogs more than 500 tools for measuring, cutting, fastening, and shaping - from hammers and saws to wrenches, welders, and drawknives. Throughout these illustrated pages, you'll learn how to care for each tool so it can last a lifetime, as well as learn intriguing tidbits and fascinating histories of each object along the way.

A groundbreaking examination of the role that wood and trees have played in our global ecosystem--including human evolution and the rise and fall of empires--in the bestselling tradition of Yuval Harari's Sapiens and Mark Kurlansky's Salt. As the dominant species on Earth, humans have made astonishing progress since our ancestors came down from the trees. But how did the descendants of small primates manage to walk upright, become top predators, and populate the world? How were humans able to develop civilizations and produce a globalized economy? Now, in The Age of Wood, Roland Ennos shows for the first time that the key to our success has been our relationship with wood. Brilliantly synthesizing recent research with existing knowledge in fields as wide-ranging as primatology, anthropology, archaeology, history, architecture, engineering, and carpentry, Ennos reinterprets human history and shows how our ability to exploit wood's unique properties has profoundly shaped our bodies and minds, societies, and lives. He takes us on a sweeping ten-million-year journey from Southeast Asia and West Africa where great apes swing among the trees, build nests, and fashion tools; to East Africa where hunter gatherers collected their food; to the structural design of wooden temples in China and Japan; and to Northern England, where archaeologists trace how coal enabled humans to build an industrial world. Addressing the effects of industrialization--including the use of fossil fuels and other energy-intensive materials to replace timber--The Age of Wood not only shows the essential role that trees play in the history and evolution of human existence, but also argues that for the benefit of our planet we must return to more traditional ways of growing, using, and understanding trees. A winning blend of history and science, this is a fascinating and authoritative work for anyone interested in nature, the environment, and the making of the world as we know it.

Named one ofWIRED's "The Best Pop Culture That Got Us Through 2020" InAnalogia, technology historian George Dyson presents a startling look back at the analog age and life before the digital revolution--and an unsettling vision of what comes next. In 1716, the philosopher and mathematician Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz spent eight days taking the cure with Peter the Great at Bad Pyrmont in Saxony, trying to persuade the tsar to launch a voyage of discovery from Russia to America and to adopt digital computing as the foundation for a remaking of life on earth. In two classic books,Darwin Among the MachinesandTuring's Cathedral, George Dyson chronicled the realization of the second of Leibniz's visions. InAnalogia, his pathbreaking new book, he brings the story full circle, starting with the Russian American expedition of 1741 and ending with the beyond-digital revolution that will complete the transformation of the world. Dyson enlists a startling cast of characters, from the time of Catherine the Great to the age of machine intelligence, and draws heavily on his own experiences at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey, and onward to the rain forest of the Northwest Coast. We are, Dyson reveals, entering a new epoch in human history, one driven by a generation of machines whose powers are no longer under programmable control. Includes black-and-white illustrations

The book provides information on recent advancements in bioenergy engineering to graduates, post-graduates, research scholars, faculty members, academician, researchers and practitioners studying and working in field of the bioenergy engineering. It is an invaluable information resource on biomass-based biofuels for fundamental and applied research, catering to researchers in the areas of biogas technology, densification techniques, biomass gasification, torrefaction of biomass, biochar production, micro algae production, improved biomass cookstoves, bio-ethanol production and the use of microbial processes in the conversion of biomass into biofuels. It will also be useful to faculties and researchers to understand the present status, advancements and policies in implementation of bioenergy technologies in India. This book will definitely provide a direction to the young researchers in identification of thrust areas of research in the field of bioenergy. The book concludes with research and development endeavours and aspects relating to implementation of advance bioenergy technologies.

This volume is more than just another predictable, formulaic examination of a UFO sighting or alien encounter. Rather, the so-called Andreasson Affair is a case of such strangeness that even the most open-minded investigators were at first inclined to dismiss it. Yet it became the subject of an intensive twelve-month investigation that involved testimony given under hypnosis, extensive lie detector testing of witnesses, detailed analysis of corroborative circumstantial evidence, and exhaustive comparison with other such accounts. This enthralling text includes the most detailed description of any UFO abduction experience, Betty Andreasson's precise drawings of her experience, and alleged verification of all events associated with Betty's encounter.

This is not just another book about Roswell. Rather, it's about the aftermath, the lifetime impact Roswell has had on the families who were forced to live with the suppressed truth and the fear of reprisal from a government sworn to protect them. Parents who were present during the incident may have passed on, but their children know what happened, and they have paid dearly for their knowledge. Included here are stories of tapped phones, government intimidation and attempted brainwashing, and unexplained disappearances. These are stories that force you to think about why the government would go to such lengths to keep these families quiet.

Are you still having trouble understanding and learning the fundamentals of Cricut? If so, this guidebook will make your worries disappear! This is the guide® damn complete you won't find it in the box! The 10 manuscripts in this book provide 500 pages of information to master the world of Cricut. 1 - Cricut for beginners 2 - First project 3 - Design Space 4 - Project ideas for beginners 5 - All the materials, tools, and accessories 6 - Cricut Business from Home 7 - Project ideas for business & advanced makers 8 - Cricut Joy 9 - Cricut Explore Air 2 10 - Cricut Maker machine Cricut has proven to be one of, if not the most, profitable brands of cutting plotters. However, operating the machine is understandably difficult. However, with this Cricut guide, you will find yourself free from all the stresses and troubles of managing your Cricut machine. This guidebook includes answers to the most common questions asked by new users of Cricut tools. It includes the basics and beginner guides for handling a Cricut machine as well as advanced tips and tricks that will surely come in handy. Our Cricut guidebook is detailed and intricate. It even offers information regarding starting a business with your Cricut machine, navigating through the Cricut Design Space, and finding the right tools, materials, and accessories. These 10 manuscripts in 1 book are essential for helping you master the machine and assure you will create better projects in the future. Here's a quick peek at what you will find inside this Cricut manual: · What to know before buying · How to navigate the Cricut Design Space · How to create your first project (with a mini step-by-step guide) · First Cricut projects and advanced project ideas · Tips and tricks for tools, materials, and accessories · User manual for Cricut Maker, Cricut Joy, and Cricut Air Explore 2 · Making money from Cricut Whether you want to add a personal touch to your home, earn some extra money through a Cricut-related business, or make heartwarming gifts for your friends and family, this box-set allows you to turn your dreams into a reality. WOW, BONUSES! Inside this book, you'll find instructions for accessing a collection of: - 950+ video tutorials - Official printer manuals - A list of the best communities to meet other makers - Thousands of project ideas available for free - Millions of free SVG files and images - My private contacts After reading this book, you will no longer need to buy or read any other books on Cricut, because: - This is the most complete guide around - This guide is continuously updated - This guidebook was reviewed by America's top Cricut maker communities Have you already bought other books about Cricut? Don't worry, you won't be buying anymore! The information you find in this collection is rare because it is based on experience and knowledge. So, what are you waiting for? Click BUY NOW and grab this book today!

Make cute and cuddly animals with easy crochet Create a colorful collection of pillowy plush critters with the magic of crochet! Crochet Cute Critters is packed with simple patterns for creating adorable animals from alligators to zebras. The easy-to-make designs are perfect for beginning crocheters as well as advanced enthusiasts of amigurumi--the art of crocheting stuffed toys. Stitch, detail, and stuff each character to bring these huggable friends to life. Keep them as desk or bookshelf buddies, or gift them to a critter-loving kid! Beginner-friendly materials--The crochet patterns whip up quickly using a standard hook and common worsted weight yarn, so anyone can get started right away. Handy reference pages―Refer to step-by-step rundowns of essential crocheting skills, along with a full-color picture of each critter. Basics to build on―Every 10" animal shares the same basic head and body pattern, so the techniques can be carried over from project to project. Discover how fun and easy it is to stitch up lovable, floppy friends with Crochet Cute Critters!

Illustrates the differences between renewable and nonrenewable energy. Explains what makes energy sources renewable or nonrenewable and how they affect everyday life. Colorful photographs and diagrams help illustrate each science concept. A chart compares the concepts head-to-head to help solidify readers' grasp of the material. Additional features include a table of contents, a phonetic glossary, an index, and sources for further research.

Florida Cooks share the recipe that are dear to their hearts. All-Time Favorite Recipes from Florida Cooks has tried & true recipes for every meal of the day, plus yummy party treat and delicious desserts. - Easy to make dishes, with the great taste you expect from Gooseberry Patch recipes. - Family-pleasing meals like burgers, casseroles, salads and more - Fun trivia about the great state of Florida that you'll love to read and share - Time-saving tips and helps to get meals on the table in a jiffy 147 Recipes

Winner of the Gold Medal for Memoir/Biography from the Military Writers Society of America A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice "A whale of a tale, told clearly and quickly. I read the entire book in almost one sitting."--Thomas E. Ricks, New York Times Book Review The incredible story of the first African American military pilot, who went on to become a Paris nightclub impresario, a spy in the French Resistance and an American civil rights pioneer Eugene Bullard lived one of the most fascinating lives of the twentieth century. The son of a former slave and an indigenous Creek woman, Bullard fled home at the age of eleven to escape the racial hostility of his Georgia community. When his journey led him to Europe, he garnered worldwide fame as a boxer, and later as the first African American fighter pilot in history. After the war, Bullard returned to Paris a celebrated hero. But little did he know that the dramatic, globe-spanning arc of his life had just begun. All Blood Runs Red is the inspiring untold story of an American hero, a thought-provoking chronicle of the twentieth century and a portrait of a man who came from nothing and by his own courage, determination, gumption, intelligence and luck forged a legendary life.

The idea that the digital age has revolutionized our day-to-day experience of the world is nothing new, and has been amply recognized by cultural historians. In contrast, Stephen Robertson's BC: Before Computers is a work which questions the idea that the mid-twentieth century saw a single moment of rupture. It is about all the things that we had to learn, invent, and understand - all the ways we had to evolve our thinking - before we could enter the information technology revolution of the second half of the twentieth century. Its focus ranges from the beginnings of data processing, right back to such originary forms of human technology as the development of writing systems, gathering a whole history of revolutionary moments in the development of information technologies into a single, although not linear narrative. Treading the line between philosophy and technical history, Robertson draws on his extensive technical knowledge to produce a text which is both thought-provoking and accessible to a wide range of readers. The book is wide in scope, exploring the development of technologies in such diverse areas as cryptography, visual art and music, and the postal system. Through all this, it does not simply aim to tell the story of computer developments but to show that those developments rely on a long history of humans creating technologies for increasingly sophisticated methods of manipulating information. Through a clear structure and engaging style, it brings together a wealth of informative and conceptual explorations into the history of human technologies, and avoids assumptions about any prior knowledge on the part of the reader. As such, it has the potential to be of interest to the expert and the general reader alike.

Electric and hybrid vehicles are now the present, not the future. This straightforward and highly illustrated full colour textbook is endorsed by the Institute of the Motor Industry, and introduces the subject for further education and undergraduate students as well as technicians. This new edition includes a new section on diagnostics and completely updated case studies. It covers the different types of electric vehicle, costs and emissions, and the charging infrastructure, before moving on to explain how hybrid and electric vehicles work. A chapter on electrical technology introduces learners to subjects such as batteries, control systems and charging which are then covered in more detail within their own chapters. The book also covers the maintenance and repair procedures of these vehicles, including fault finding, servicing, repair and first-responder information. Clear diagrams, photos and flow charts outline the charging infrastructure, how EV technology works, and how to repair and maintain hybrid and electric vehicles. Optional IMI online eLearning materials enable students to study the subject further and test their knowledge. It is particularly suitable for students studying towards IMI Level 2 Award in Hybrid Electric Vehicle Operation and Maintenance, IMI Level 3 Award in Hybrid Electric Vehicle Repair and Replacement, IMI Accreditation, C&G and other EV/Hybrid courses.

This is the first anthology of fashion criticism, a growing field that has been too long overlooked. Fashion Criticism aims to redress the balance, claiming a place for writing on fashion alongside other more well-established areas of criticism. Exploring the history of fashion criticism in the English language, this essential work takes readers from the writing published in avant-garde modernist magazines at the beginning of the twentieth century to the fashion criticism of Robin Givhan-the first fashion critic to win a Pulitzer Prize-and of Judith Thurman, a National Book Award winner. It covers the shift in newspapers from the so-called "women's pages" to the contemporary style sections, while unearthing the work of cultural critics and writers on fashion including Susan Sontag and Eve Babitz (Vogue), Bebe Moore Campbell (Ebony), Angela Carter (New Statesman) and Hilton Als (New Yorker). Examining the gender dynamics of the field and its historical association with the feminine, Fashion Criticism demonstrates how fashion has gained ground as a subject of critical analysis, capitalizing on the centrality of dress and clothing in an increasingly visual and digital world. The book argues that fashion criticism occupied a central role in negotiating shifting gender roles as well as shifting understandings of race. Bringing together two centuries of previously uncollected articles and writings, from Oscar Wilde's editorials in The Woman's World to the ground-breaking fashion journalism of the 1980s and today's proliferation of fashion bloggers, it will be an essential resource for students of fashion studies, media and journalism.

The role of robots in society keeps expanding and diversifying, bringing with it a host of issues surrounding the relationship between robots and humans. This introduction to human-robot interaction (HRI), written by leading researchers in this developing field, is the first to provide a broad overview of the multidisciplinary topics central to modern HRI research. Students and researchers from robotics, artificial intelligence, psychology, sociology, and design will find it a concise and accessible guide to the current state of the field. Written for students from diverse backgrounds, it presents relevant background concepts, describing how robots work, how to design them, and how to evaluate their performance. Self-contained chapters discuss a wide range of topics, including the different communication modalities such as speech and language, non-verbal communication and the processing of emotions, as well as ethical issues around the application of robots today and in the context of our future society.

An accessible and easy-to-follow comic book cookbook for bringing Asian dumplings into the home kitchen, with recipes for savory and sweet dumplings, dipping sauces, riffs, and more-from the authors of Let's Make Ramen! ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR- Time Out, Glamour, Wired, Publishers Weekly, Booklist . "A fun-filled, information-packed romp through the magnificent world of Eastern dumplings, anchored by chef Hugh Amano's rich Japanese heritage and artist Sarah Becan's dynamic illustrations."-Andrea Nguyen, James Beard Award-winning author of The Pho Cookbook and Asian Dumplings Chef Hugh Amano and comics artist Sarah Becan invite you to explore the big little world of Asian dumplings! Ideal for both newbies and seasoned cooks, this comic book cookbook takes a fun approach to a classic treat that is imbued with history across countless regions. From wontons to potstickers, buuz to momos, Amano's expert guidance paired with Becan's colorful and detailed artwork prove that intricate folding styles and flavorful fillings are achievable in the home kitchen. Let's Make Dumplings! includes dumpling lore; a master folding guide that familiarizes readers with popular styles, like the pleated crescent of a potsticker or the 4-pointed star of a crab rangoon; and a series of cooking directions to choose from, such as steaming or pan-frying. The recipes range from savory Gyoza to sweet Cambodian Num Kom; from classic Baozi to riffs such as Sesame Chicken Dumplings. Whether it is the family-style eating experience of stacked steamer baskets filled with succulent shumai and plump xiaolongbao or the interactive process of working together to fold hundreds of jiaozi for a celebration, Let's Make Dumplings! captures the deep level of connection that dumplings bring to any gathering and shows you how to re-create it in your own home.

Creatively mend and customize your old clothes to revitalize your outfits and save the planet Bring new life to your old clothes and fabrics with this fun, easy-to-follow guide to modern mending. Across the globe, we send tonnes of clothing to landfill each year. In fact, clothing consumption in the UK and US are one of the highest in the world. But the good news is that mending is trending, and it's never been easier to repair and reinvent your favourite clothes. Inspired by the slow fashion movement that's taking the sewing world by storm, Erin Lewis-Fitzgerald has created a comprehensive guide to mending your own clothes in a way that combines creativity and sustainability. In Modern Mending, she demystifies mending and shares step-by-step instructions for a range of techniques, including stitching, darning, patching, needle felting and machine darning. So next time you tear your favourite jeans or find a hole in your jumper, think twice before throwing them away. With Modern Mending, you'll gain the skills and confidence needed to rebel against fast fashion now and for years to come.

Here is everything you need to know about getting into oil painting--and maintaining a safe, solvent-free oil painting practice--in a slim, sophisticated guide. Oil painting is an exciting and adventurous medium, but aspiring artists can feel daunted by complex setups and the thought of using harsh chemicals. All of that changes now. The New Oil Painting walks you step-by-step through oil painting fundamentals--which materials you actually need, how to mix paint, how to set up your painting space--and, most revolutionary of all, how to eliminate harmful solvents from your work and replace them with safe, effective substitutes. This instructional handbook is organized into chapters with helpful diagrams throughout illustrating various techniques and tools. Whether you're a true beginner or have been painting with oils for years, you will find that this book has everything you need to build a new, thriving, toxin-free practice. * UNIQUE APPROACH: Not only does this book help aspiring artists build a repertoire of skills and materials, it also offers all artists, regardless of their experience levels, methods for eliminating solvents and other toxic substances from their oil painting practices. What was once a dangerous pastime is now a guilt-free, health-conscious, and rewarding activity. And using safe, nontoxic materials is better for the environment! * LONG-TERM USE: Good art instruction can deliver over a long period of time, and this handy guide is no exception. Along with being able to use this as an entryway into oil painting, you can also use it for reference or reread sections when you need a brushup. * EXPERT AUTHOR WITH IMPRESSIVE CREDENTIALS: Painter Kimberly Brooks was the founding arts editor at Huffington Post. As a painter, she exhibits her work frequently throughout the United States and was a featured artist with the National Endowment for the Arts. She has led oil painting workshops, and now she shares her vast knowledge of the subject in this accessible and comprehensive handbook. Perfect for: * Artists and art aspirants interested in exploring a new medium * Experienced oil painters looking to eliminate solvents from their practices * Painting students and teachers

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The industry-standard resource for stress and stain formulas--fully updated for the latest advances and ease of use Fully revised and expanded with a new more open design, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, Ninth Edition provides accurate and thorough tabulated formulations that can be applied to the stress analysis of a comprehensive range of structural components. All equations and diagrams of structural properties are laid out in an new format that makes it easier to access and use the information. This extensively updated edition contains new and revised content on a broad range of subjects, including fatigue stress formulas, Castigliano's theorems for calculating deflections, finite element and boundary element methods, fracture mechanics, and the elasticity of materials.  The book contains an all-new section on factor of safety and contains the codes and standards that apply to mechanical design. You will get a solid grounding in the mathematical theory behind each formula along with real-world applications in everything from beams and columns to fasteners and joints across the most commonly used materials. * Presents all the stress and strain facts, principles, and formulas in a new, easier to read format * New second color enhances the user experience. * Streamlines content from previous editions and features new content

In We Are What We Eat, Alice Waters urges us to take up the mantle of slow food culture, the philosophy at the core of her life's work. When Waters first opened Chez Panisse in 1971, she did so with the intention of feeding people good food during a time of political turmoil. Customers responded to the locally sourced organic ingredients, to the dishes made by hand, and to the welcoming hospitality that infused the small space - human qualities that were disappearing from a country increasingly seduced by takeout, frozen dinners, and prepackaged ingredients. Waters came to see that the phenomenon of fast food culture, which prioritized cheapness, availability, and speed, was not only ruining our health, but also dehumanizing the ways we live and relate to one another. Over years of working with regional farmers, Waters and her partners learned how geography and seasonal fluctuations affect the ingredients on the menu, as well as about the dangers of pesticides, the plight of fieldwork

A guide to some of the world's most fascinating places, as seen and experienced by writer, television host, and relentlessly curious traveler Anthony Bourdain Anthony Bourdain saw more of the world than nearly anyone. His travels took him from the hidden pockets of his hometown of New York to a tribal longhouse in Borneo, from cosmopolitan Buenos Aires, Paris, and Shanghai to Tanzania's utter beauty and the stunning desert solitude of Oman's Empty Quarter--and many places beyond. In World Travel, a life of experience is collected into an entertaining, practical, fun and frank travel guide that gives readers an introduction to some of his favorite places--in his own words. Featuring essential advice on how to get there, what to eat, where to stay and, in some cases, what to avoid, World Travel provides essential context that will help readers further appreciate the reasons why Bourdain found a place enchanting and memorable. Supplementing Bourdain's words are a handful of essays by friends, colleagues, and family that tell even deeper stories about a place, including sardonic accounts of traveling with Bourdain by his brother, Christopher; a guide to Chicago's best cheap eats by legendary music producer Steve Albini, and more. Additionally, each chapter includes illustrations by Wesley Allsbrook. For veteran travelers, armchair enthusiasts, and those in between, World Travel offers a chance to experience the world like Anthony Bourdain.