LibGuides: LIBRARY SERVICES DURING COVID-19: ONLINE FREE RESOURCES

Open Educational Resources and Affordable Internet Options

With the precautions surrounding COVID-19, colleges and universities are turning towards virtual learning to prevent further outbreaks. Instructional material from a multitude of organizations is being temporarily put online free to students to help them during this process.

The following websites provide current online, free educational resources to help supplement the educational material that your institution provides to you.

These websites will be monitored and updated with current links

If you cannot make it to a place that offers WiFi during the COVID-19 pandemic, here is more information on how to secure affordable Internet at home:

- General information concerning internet connection during the COVID-19 pandemic.

AT&T

- AT&T Access

Provides low-cost internet service for eligible households.
$5 - $10 a month depending on location and Internet speed.
Free installation and in-home Wi-Fi.
No annual contract or deposit.

Comcast

- Comcast Response to COVID-19

- Internet Essentials from Comcast

Eligible new customers will receive two free months of internet service.
$9.95 plus tax per month for in-home Wi-Fi.
No installation fees, term contract, or credit check.
Deadline to apply and be approved has been extended to December 31, 2020.

Spectrum

- Spectrum Internet Assist

Eligible new customers can receive more affordable internet service.
Includes in-home Wi-Fi for $5 a month.
No contracts.

Faculty Resources

PHSC Open Educational Resources Guide
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. PHSC has compiled a guide compiling several of these always free, useful resources.
Bunk History
Free year-round. Created by the University of Richmond, this website provides links to newspapers, magazines, and other online resources about history through one central website.
Genially
Helps create templates and presentations as you move material into the online environment. Free access to 150 premium templates and resources has been granted permanently due to COVID-19, with registration of a free account.
Izzit.org
Always free. Provides supplemental materials to help create curriculums in multiple subject areas.
JSTOR Daily
Free year-round. JSTOR Daily is a free academic publication that contextualizes current events with historical background and academic scholarship from its databases.
Kognity
Some free resources for educators including webinars, collaborative material from educators in similar situations, etc.
LabsLand
Real labs to integrate into CANVAS for your students. Free until Summer 2020.
Massolit
Short curriculum videos covering a wide-range of topics. Request for free access due to COVID-19 required.
OER Project
Free year-round, this interactive and engaging online platform includes both Big History Project and World History Project, and allows teachers to create a virtual classroom environment to teach students critical thinking and tying historical events together.
Teaching Effectively During COVID-19
This Google Document compiled by individuals at Stanford University offers a multitude of online options, including incorporation of different techniques, strategies, and softwares to help.

Supplemental Student Resources

PHSC Open Educational Resources Guide
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. PHSC has compiled a guide compiling several of these always free, useful resources.
American Chemical Society
Free to access year-round, the American Chemical Society contains magazines printed about chemistry and biographical information on chemists. Good for high schoolers and college students.
American Panorama
Free from the University of Richmond, this website provides 21st century maps and history of the United States.
BeeLine Reader
This website assists in accessibility of websites and reading online. For students who have trouble focusing with online material, this will help on-screen reading. Free plugin account until September 2020.
Bunk History
Free year-round. Created by the University of Richmond, this website provides links to newspapers, magazines, and other online resources about history through one central website.
Classroom Cereal
Always free. Website to help with grammar by providing practice stories.
CMU CS Academy
Always free, sponsored by Carnegie Mellon University. Online textbook for computer courses. Includes course material on PYTHON coding.
Control Alt Achieve
A blog post outlining free Google Chrome extensions that assist with accessibility of websites and online resources in regards to text to speech, readability, reading comprehension, focus, and navigation.
JSTOR Daily
Free year-round. JSTOR Daily is a free academic publication that contextualizes current events with historical background and academic scholarship from its databases.
Math Celebrity
Helps with step-by-step math problems. Always free.
Flashcards via Chegg
Chegg offers a free flashcard tool for students to find, create, share, and study flashcards on a variety of subjects.

Resources for PHSC Students with K-12 Children at Home

PHSC Open Educational Resources Guide
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. PHSC has compiled a guide compiling several of these always free, useful resources.
Scholastic At Home
Providing 20+ days of activities, videos, and learning experiences for your children. Email address required for free access.
PBS LearningMedia
Always free. Resources for multiple subjects. Includes a valuable list of PreK-12 Learning Resources for Emergency Closings in response to COVID-19.
American Chemical Society
Free to access year-round, the American Chemical Society contains magazines printed about chemistry and biographical information on chemists. Good for high schoolers and college students.
BeeLine Reader
This website assists in accessibility of websites and reading online. For students who have trouble focusing with online material, this will help on-screen reading. Free plugin account until September 2020.
BookCreater App
Helps put together educational material for students at home during the COVID-19 situation. Free for 90 days.
Chrome Music Lab
Free year round. Create music while implementing in science, math, and art. A great STEAM tool at home.
Handwriting Heroes
Online is always free, currently iPad app free of charge. Take this time at home to teach your kids handwriting! This curriculum offers multi-sensory techniques for learning handwriting.
JSTOR Daily
Free year-round. JSTOR Daily is a free academic publication that contextualizes current events with historical background and academic scholarship from its databases.
Math Celebrity
Helps with step-by-step math problems. Always free.

LIBRARY SERVICES DURING COVID-19: ONLINE FREE RESOURCES

Open Educational Resources and Affordable Internet Options

With the precautions surrounding COVID-19, colleges and universities are turning towards virtual learning to prevent further outbreaks. Instructional material from a multitude of organizations is being temporarily put online free to students to help them during this process.

The following websites provide current online, free educational resources to help supplement the educational material that your institution provides to you.

**These websites will be monitored and updated with current links**

If you cannot make it to a place that offers WiFi during the COVID-19 pandemic, here is more information on how to secure affordable Internet at home:

- General information concerning internet connection during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Faculty Resources

Supplemental Student Resources

Resources for PHSC Students with K-12 Children at Home

These websites will be monitored and updated with current links