LibGuides: Philosophy Research Guide: Web Resources

Useful Websites for Students: Humanities

Art & Architecture Thesaurus® Online Catherine wheel or rose window? AAT is a structured vocabulary, terms, descriptions, subject headings, bibliographic citations, and other information for generic concepts relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.
Artcyclopedia Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. The main mode of searching within the site, and the main way that web surfers find their way to us, is a search on an artist's name.
Cultural Objects Name Authority® Online Mona Lisa or La Gioconda? CONA, a new structured vocabulary, contains titles, attributions, and other information for cultural works, including architecture and movable works such as paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, textiles, ceramics, furniture, other visual media such as frescoes and architectural sculpture, performance art, archaeological artifacts, and various functional objects that are from the realm of material culture.
The Getty Research Institute The Getty Research Institute is dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts. Its Research Library with special collections of rare materials and digital resources serves an international community of scholars and the interested public.
Google Arts & Culture Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Knight Digital Media Center The tutorials on this site are designed to supplement the in-person training, and as a service to the journalism community, communication professionals and the public in general.
NGA Images With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works on NGA Images are now freely available for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. Designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration, NGA Images includes more than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each. All are available free of charge for searching, browsing, sharing, and downloading. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts.
SAH Archipedia A carefully selected subset from an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world, containing histories, photographs, and maps for more than 2100 structures in 766 cities and 22 states.
UbuWeb Founded in 1996, UbuWeb is a pirate shadow library consisting of hundreds of thousands of freely downloadable avant-garde artifacts.
Union List of Artist Names® Online Titian or Tiziano Vecellio? ULAN is a structured vocabulary, including names, biographies, and other information about artists and architects. Names in ULAN may include given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, names in multiple languages, and names that have changed over time (e.g., married names). Among these names, one is flagged as the preferred name. The temporal coverage of the ULAN ranges from Antiquity to the present and the scope is global.

American Women Artists in History This is a small sampling of women artists and their works in the vast visual arts collections of the Smithsonian. American women photographers have also made their mark in the visual arts. The Smithsonian tells the stories of women within our museums and beyond our walls, critically examining the past and highlighting art and artists who might have been overlooked historically.
The Cave of Chauvet - Pont D'Arc A virtual tour of a Neolithic cave.
Classical Art Research Centre The art of ancient Greece and Rome, and its collection and reception since antiquity.
Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
Dutch Paintings 17th Century The National Gallery of Art proudly presents its remarkable collection of Dutch seventeenth-century paintings, with entries written by curator Arthur K. Wheelock Jr.
The Essential Vermeer Essentialvermeer.com has become the internet's essential tool for exploring every facet of the life and work of the great 17th-c. Dutch painting master. Essential Vermeer is continually deepened by additions of new and significant studies.
European-art.net (EAN) European-art.net (EAN) connects the digital databases of all partners, providing a single entry point to diverse information on individuals, groups and institutions as well as details about exhibitions and publications.
The Getty Research Institute The Getty Research Institute is dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund.
Henri De Tolouse-Lautrec: Complete Works
The Image of the Black in Western Art Research Project and Photo Archive Spanning nearly 5,000 years and documenting virtually all forms of media, the Image of the Black in Western Art Research Project and Photo Archive is an unprecedented research project devoted to the systematic investigation of how people of African descent have been perceived and represented in art.
Investigating Bellini’s Feast of the Gods Investigating Bellini’s Feast of the Gods is one of several exhibits in the WebExhibits online museum, all of which promote discovery through multidisciplinary approaches that support all learning styles. WebExhibits is a public service of the Institute for Dynamic Educational Advancement (IDEA).
Mapping Gothic France With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries.
The Rembrandt Database The Rembrandt Database is an inter-institutional research resource for information and documentation on paintings by Rembrandt – or attributed to him, either now or in the past – in museums around the world.
Van Gogh's Letters: Unabridged and Annotated Over 16,000 searchable words, 62 index topics, 1284 topic citations, and 1223 artwork citations.
Vatican Museum Collections Online
Virtual Tour of the Sistine Chapel A virtual reality tour of the Sistine Chapel.
Web Gallery of Art The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 26.000 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.

American Ballet Theatre U.S. dance company operating since 1940.
American College Dance Association The American College Dance Association’s primary focus is to support and promote the wealth of talent and creativity that is prominent throughout college and university dance departments. ACDA’s sponsorship of regional conferences and the national dance festival provides the venue for students and faculty to engage in three days of performances, workshops, panels, and master classes taught by instructors from around the region and country. The conferences also provide the unique opportunity for students and faculty to have their dance works adjudicated by a panel of nationally recognized dance professionals in an open and constructive forum. The conferences are the primary means for college and university dance programs to perform outside their own academic setting and to gain exposure to the diversity of college dance throughout the United States. Many conferences culminate with the presentation of pieces selected for their exemplary artistic quality.
American Dance Festival Since 1934, the American Dance Festival has been a recognized leader in modern dance presenting dance performances, and offering educational opportunities and community programs, while maintaining an international reach.
Bates Dance Festival The Bates Dance Festival brings together an international community of choreographers, performers, educators & students in a cooperative community to study, perform & create new work.
Boston Ballet We are Boston’s Ballet. We believe in the transformative power of dance to inspire positive change in our community and beyond. We step toward the future, where our art breaks down barriers, opens minds, strengthens our connections to each other, and is shared more widely with all. Because the future of dance is the future of humanity.
Dance Studies Association The Dance Studies Association (DSA) is an international organization of dance scholars, educators, and artists that aims to strengthen the visibility and increase the reach of dance as embodied practice, creative endeavor and intellectual discipline.
Florida Dance Education Organization (FDEO) The Florida Dance Education Organization, is a proud state affiliate of The National Dance Education Organization (NDEO), a growing organization that provides several kinds of services and information for dance educators. Each year in October, FDEO presents an educators conference featuring guest presenters, roundtable discussions, networking sessions, and performances. FDEO regularly partners with other regional, state, and national organizations to teach, perform, create, advocate, evaluate, and support growth in arts education.
International Association for Dance, Medicine & Science IADMS is an inclusive organization for professionals who care for those who dance by evolving best practices in dance science, education, research, and medical care to support optimal health, well-being, training, and performance.
Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today, plus multi-media essays and a related podcast.
National Association of Schools of Dance (NASD) Founded in 1981, the National Association of Schools of Dance (NASD) is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities with approximately 83 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials for dance and dance-related disciplines, and provides assistance to institutions and individuals engaged in artistic, scholarly, educational, and other dance-related endeavors.

The Aaron Copland Collection The multiformat Aaron Copland Collection from which the online collection derives spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes approximately 400,000 items documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person who was composer, performer, teacher, writer, conductor, commentator, and administrator.
African American Sheet Music The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. The sheet music, primarily vocal music of American imprint, dates from the 18th century to the present day, with the largest concentration of titles in the period 1840-1950.
Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature Established in 1998 as a joint venture of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music and the Office of Research and the University Graduate School, the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature (CHMTL) brings together various activities, publications (both electronic and conventional), and projects centered at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University.
Contemporary Music Score Collection The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection is a multi-format ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed of Glen Lyn, Virginia. Recorded by folklorist Alan Jabbour in 1966-67, when Reed was over eighty years old, the tunes represent the music and evoke the history and spirit of Virginia's Appalachian frontier. Many of the tunes have passed back into circulation during the fiddling revival of the later twentieth century.
Fryderyk Chopin Institute The Fryderyk Chopin Institute is the greatest Chopin centre in the world, which fully and comprehensively promotes, protects, investigates and popularizes the heritage of Fryderyk Chopin. The multidimensional and differentiated activity of the Institute is the answer to the work and life of the composer – rich, ambiguous, being a challenge and task for the next generations of listeners, performers and scientists, fascinated by this music and figure.
George Frederic Handel Information concerning the life and work of George Frederic Handel.
The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies The Beethoven Gateway is a free online resource that helps direct people interested in Beethoven to books, articles, scores, and other sources on the composer.
J.S. Bach Home Page Reviews and recordings of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach.
John Cage Unbound: A Living Archive John Cage Unbound: A Living Archive is an online record of John Cage's work and its evolving impact on music and performance.
The Mozart Project The life, times and music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
National Jukebox The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip is a multiformat ethnographic field collection that includes nearly 700 sound recordings, as well as fieldnotes, dust jackets, and other manuscripts documenting a three-month, 6,502-mile trip through the southern United States.

Bentham Project This website gives information on Jeremy Bentham and about the work of the Bentham Project.
Bioethics Research Library The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University is an interdisciplinary and multi-format collection on ethical issues related to health care, biomedical research, biotechnology, and the environment.
Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions (CSEP) The Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions (CSEP) was established in 1976 to promote research and teaching on practical moral problems in the professions.
Ethics Updates Ethics Updates was founded in 1994 by Lawrence M. Hinman, a professor of philosophy at the University of San Diego. Originally, it was intended to update the bibliographical essays in two of his books, Ethics: A Pluralistic Approach to Moral Theory and Contemporary Moral Issues.
Ethics in Medicine The Ethics in Medicine website is an educational resource designed for clinicians in training.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is a peer-reviewed resource. It was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Nietzsche Source Includes the Digitale Kritische Gesamtausgabe (eKGWB), a digital version of the German critical edition of the complete works, posthumous fragments, and correspondence of Nietzsche edited by Giorgio Colli and Mazzino Montinari (Friedrich Nietzsche, Werke. Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Berlin/New York, de Gruyter, 1967– and Nietzsche Briefwechsel. Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Berlin/New York, de Gruyter, 1975–) and the Digitale Faksimile Gesamtausgabe (DFGA), a digital facsimile reproduction of the entire Nietzsche estate, including first editions of works, manuscripts, letters and biographical documents. All the almost 7,000 philological corrections that are scattered in the critical apparatuses of the different commentary volumes of the print edition have been integrated directly into the digital critical edition (eKGWB).The resulting text is the most correct version of the Colli/Montinari critical edition. The digital facsimile edition (DFGA) is provided with high-resolution color facsimiles which users are able to browse, enlarge, print or download. Additionally, the DFGA has adapted the most widely used classification for Nietzsche's works, the Mette classification, and has completed it by correcting errors and filling in numbering gaps.
Philosophy Around the Web Philosophy Around the Web includes links to nearly 150 philosophers. The links also lead to the writings of and about these important figures.
Philosophy TV Current trends in academic philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

American Religious Experience Project The American Religious Experience Project encourages the development and publication of American religion manuscripts and images on the World Wide Web.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion.
Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs Through research, teaching, and service, the Center explores global challenges of democracy and human rights; economic and social development; international diplomacy; and interreligious understanding.
Bulfinch's Mythology Full-text version of Bulfinch's Mythology: "The Age of Fable."
Codex Sinaiticus Codex Sinaiticus is one of the most important books in the world. Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, the manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible and the manuscript – the oldest substantial book to survive Antiquity – is of supreme importance for the history of the book.
Digital Dead Sea Scrolls The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls, allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical project that compiles essays by scholars on all women in Muslim majority societies and all Muslim women in Muslim minority societies.
From Papyri to King James: The Transmission of the English Bible This exhibit traces the roots of the King James Bible, showing both its direct ancestors and other, related religious works from A.D. 150 to A.D. 1611.
The Goodspeed Manuscript Collection The Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection comprises 68 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin manuscripts ranging in date from the 5th to the 19th centuries. The acquisition of these hitherto unknown manuscripts was spearheaded by Edgar J. Goodspeed in the first half of the twentieth century in order to support new scholarship in the humanities.
Hartford Institute for Religion Research This website has 3 primary purposes: 1) To present summaries of current religion research by Hartford Institute for Religion Research faculty as well as the research done by other sociologists of religion. 2) By making this research available online, we hope to educate pastors, denominational leaders, religion reporters and the general public in a better understanding of research on religion in order to help create stronger communities of faith and a more informed society.
Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) Through the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.
Jewish Virtual Library The Jewish Virtual Library, is a resource for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism.
The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, is a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls.
On Common Ground The Pluralism Project: World Religions in America is a two decade-long research project with current funding from the Lilly Endowment and the E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Foundation to engage students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States.
Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls The Center aims to stimulate and foster research on the Scrolls, particularly the great task of integrating the new information gained from the Scrolls into the body of knowledge about Jewish history and religion in the Second Temple period.
The Ovid Collection The Electronic Text Center's holdings include a variety of Metamorphoses resources.
Papal Encyclicals Online Your guide to online Papal and other official documents of the Catholic Church.
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.
The Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic An exhibition produced by the Library of Congress.
WorldWide Religious News WorldWide Religious News is a non-profit service providing the international academic and legal community with up-to-date religious news from around the world.

American Association of Community Theatre The American Association of Community Theatre provides networking, resources and support to suit the needs of all those involved in community theatre.
The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary.
Best Plays Theater Yearbook The official website of The Best Plays Theater Yearbook, the annual chronicle of United States theater founded by Burns Mantle in 1920.
The Costume Page Links to web sites featuring information about costumes.
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms The Biggest Technical Theatre Glossary on the Web, now in its 14th year! OVER 1630 TERMS NOW LISTED, AND MORE ADDED REGULARLY. You can use any of the four methods below to find definitions.
IBDB: Internet Broadway Database IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Playbill.com Playbill.com takes readers behind the scenes — and under the stage — to learn about the pit orchestras of hit Broadway musicals.
TheatreHistory.com The premier site for theatre history research on the Web.

Resources

The Philosopher
The Philosopher is an interactive electronic incarnation of the Journal of the Philosophical Society of England. This journal also includes book reviews.
Philosopher's Annual
The Philosopher's Annual is a collection of the some of the best philosophy papers from 1978 - 2009.
The Philosopher's Imprint
The Philosophers' Imprint is an arrangement of adjugated original papers in philosophy, edited by Stephen Darwall and J. David Velleman, with the counsel of an international Board of Editors. It is published on the Internet by the University of Michigan Digital Library.

Interesting Blogs

Complete Lies
This site is run by Michael Austin, a graduate student in Philosophy at Memorial University of Newfoundland. He is principally interested in “the metaphysics of psychoanalysis,” including the historical precedents (Romantic/Dynamic psychology, Schelling, Schopenhauer, von Hartmann). He is interested in the psychoanalytic theorists themselves (especially Freud, Jung and Lacan), and the metaphysical offspring of this lineage (Deleuze, Badiou, Zizek, etc).
Object-Oriented Philosophy
This blog is written by Graham Harman, Associate Provost for Research Administration and member of the Department of Philosophy, American University in Cairo, Egypt.

Useful Philosophical Websites

American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association advocates the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to inspire inventive and scholarly endeavors in philosophy, to promote the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to exemplify philosophy as a discipline.
AskPhilosophers
This site uses various philosophers to answer philosophical questions sent by the general public. Since 2005, there have been 1395 questions posted. Ask them questions and if they can, they will answer.
EDSITEment Links
EDSITEment contains a variety of links to other websites and references to resources available through government, nonprofit, and commercial entities. You can use the search bar to search for philosophy.
Harvard University's Justice With Michael Sandel
Watch the videos to hear Harvard professor Michael Sandel talk about justice, equality, democracy, and citizenship....Is torture ever justified? Would you steal a drug that your child needs to survive? Is it sometimes wrong to tell the truth? How much is one human life worth? (From website).
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
The IEP is a peer-reviewed resource. It was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” and have largely been adapted from older sources. They are identifiable by the inclusion of the initials “IEP” at the close and will in time be replaced by original articles.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
The SEP is an excellent resource put together and maintained by experts in the field of Philosophy. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, their dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected
Notre Dame Philisophical Reviews
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews is dedicated to publishing high-quality book reviews. Their mission is to review a majority of the scholarly philosophy books each year and to have the review published within six to twelve months from the book's release. The journal is available free, both through e-mail subscription and on this website. The reviews are only published online.