LibGuides: Film Studies Research Guide: Web Resources

Useful Websites for Students: Communication

The Ambrose Bierce Project The Ambrose Bierce Project is an online forum and resource for the study of Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce (1842-1914?), the American soldier, topographer, journalist, and writer.
American Authors, Literary Movements, Timeline and American Literature Sites The purpose of all the American literature pages is to provide useful, interesting, advertising-free information on the subject and to provide links to the best information available for American literature from the earliest days through the 1920s. For each author page,
Celestial Timepiece: The Joyce Carol Oates Homepage Celestial Timepiece is intended to be a resource for fans, students, and scholars of Joyce Carol Oates's work.
Dickinson Electronic Archives The Dickinson Electronic Archives (DEA), is a website devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work.
The Edgar Allan Poe Digital Collection This site incorporates images of all of Poe's manuscripts and letters at the Ransom Center (linked to transcriptions by the Poe Society of Baltimore) with a selection of related archival materials, two books by Poe annotated by the author, sheet music based on his poems, and portraits from the Ransom Center collections.
The Hemingway Papers The legendary writer’s reporting from the Toronto Star archives, featuring historical annotations by William McGeary, a former editor who researched Hemingway’s columns extensively for the newspaper, along with new insight and analysis from the Star’s team of Hemingway experts.
Mark Twain Project Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
Modern American Poetry Modern American Poetry contains thousands of pages of criticism on 161 modern and contemporary poets, including many original essays and excerpts from previously published works.
Walt Whitman Archive The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. Whitman, America's most influential poet and a writer of global renown, is the most challenging of all American authors in terms of the textual difficulties his work presents. His major life work, Leaves of Grass, went through six very different editions, each of which was issued in a number of formats, creating a book that is probably best studied as numerous distinct creations rather than as a single revised work. His many other writings—varied and significant—include fiction, notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, marginalia, and voluminous journalistic articles. Drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the world, the Whitman Archive is the most comprehensive record of works by and about Whitman—and continues to grow. The Archive is directed by Kenneth M. Price (University of Nebraska–Lincoln) and Ed Folsom (University of Iowa), with ongoing contributions from many other editor-scholars, students, information professionals, and technologists.
William Faulkner on the Web William Faulkner on the Web is intended as an evolving guide to the life and works of William Faulkner, by all accounts one of America's greatest writers.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors

AFI Catalog of Feature Films The AFI Catalog of Feature Films, the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011. It also includes AFI AWARDS honorees from 2000 through 2014.
Amercan Memory Collection Motion Picture and Television Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library's American Memory collections. These collections are profiled below. In addition, broadcast quality videotapes of these films can be ordered using these instructions. For some collections lists of videotapes available are indicated below.
American Academy of Motion Pictures The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the world's preeminent movie related organization, comprised of 7000+ accomplished men and women working in cinema.
American Silent Feature Film Database The database represents the first comprehensive survey of the survival of American silent feature films. It contains information on the nearly 11,000 U.S. feature films released between 1912-1929, and holdings information about 3,300 of those titles for which elements are known to exist.
European Film Gateway The EFG Portal gives you quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
The Film Noir Foundation The Film Noir Foundation is a non-profit public benefit corporation created as an educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an original American cinematic movement. It is our mission to find and preserve films in danger of being lost or irreparably damaged, and to ensure that high quality prints of these classic films remain in circulation for theatrical exhibition to future generations.
Inventing Entertainment: the motion pictures and sound recordings of the Edison Companies This site features 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and other related materials, such as photographs and original magazine articles. Cylinder sound recordings will be added to this site in the near future. In addition, histories are given of Edison's involvement with motion pictures and sound recordings, as well as a special page focusing on the life of the great inventor.
Motion Picture Association of America The voice of one of the country’s strongest and most vibrant industries – the American motion picture, home video and television industry.

Complete Works of William Shakespeare Welcome to the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993.
The Cornell Wordsworth collection The Cornell Wordsworth Collection offers nearly comprehensive book holdings on Wordsworth, Coleridge, and related authors. The collection also includes letters, manuscripts, broadsides, pictures, documents, and objects by, to, belonging to, or about Wordsworth and his family. The collection preserves all editions of his published works, along with many books that once belonged to Wordsworth's own library. The collection also features a strong concentration of works about the Lake District.
Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians Exploring the Romantic and Victorian periods, Discovering Literature brings together, for the first time, a wealth of the British Library’s greatest literary treasures, including numerous original manuscripts, first editions and rare illustrations.
Folger Shakespeare Library LUNA Collections The Folger's Digital Image Collection offers online access to over 75,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library collection, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more. Images are available in high resolution and users can show multiple images side-by-side, zoom in and out to see fine detail, view cataloging information when available, export thumbnails, and construct permanent URLs linking back to their favorite items or searches.
James Joyce Scholars Collection The selected works compiled in the James Joyce Scholars' Collection (JJSC) all share two characteristics: 1) all the books are currently out-of-print and 2) they are valuable, perhaps indispensable, to those who seek a more complete understanding and appreciation of the richness of James Joyce's literary works.
Romantic Circles Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is published by the University of Maryland and supported, in part, by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), and the English Departments of Loyola University of Chicago and the University of Maryland.
Shakespeare Oxford Fellowship Research and Discussion of the Shakespeare Authorship Question
The William Blake Archive A free site on the World Wide Web since 1996, the Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors have given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.

BBC Languages - French Links lead to extensive language resources for French that include television and games as well as the expected dictionaries and grammars.
French Culture From the Cultural Services of the French Embassy, US. A site that aims to provide resources that promote all aspects of French culture.
Gallica: Bibliothèque Numèrique French digital book collection from the Bibliothèque Nationale.

BBC Languages - German Links lead to extensive language resources for German that include television and games as well as the expected dictionaries and grammars.
Berliner Morgenpost A Berlin newspaper.
Blick Daily news from Switzerland.
Mein Saarland Online Regional German newspaper.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting The American Archive has launched a website to give the public online access to thousands of hours of programming – as much material as legally possible to include. More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming and more content will be added periodically. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
Black Press Research Collective (BPRC) The Black Press Research Collective (BPRC) is dedicated to generating digital scholarship and archiving the Black Press to preserve the significance of the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas.
Chronicling America (Library of Congress) Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. The large and growing database is designed to inform library decisions on the development, management and preservation of newspaper collections.
Journalist's Resource A project of the Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center and the Carnegie-Knight Initiative, we're an open-access site that curates scholarly studies and reports. - See more at: http://journalistsresource.org/#sthash.Qz8GdIgZ.dpuf

Literary Resources on the Net This mega-list contains a range of literary categories, including biblical, medieval, renaissance, theory, drama and more
Poetry Foundation The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Poetry Through The Ages Poetry Through the Ages is one of several exhibits in the WebExhibits online museum, all of which promote discovery through multidisciplinary approaches that support all learning styles. WebExhibits is a public service of the Institute for Dynamic Educational Advancement (IDEA)
Women Writers Online Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered makes it a truly remarkable resource for teaching and research, providing an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.

ABC A Spanish news resource.
BBC Languages - Spanish Links lead to extensive language resources for Spanish that include television and games as well as the expected dictionaries and grammars.
CNN En Español Spanish version of CNN
El Mundo.es América Spanish newspaper reporting news from the Americas.

ProCon.org THE LEADING SOURCE FOR PROS & CONS OF CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
Tips and Techniques: Helpful Hints From Toastmasters Toastmasters International is a world leader in communication and leadership development.
Visually Speaking Visually Speaking Blog is filled with presentation tips, tricks, techniques, articles, videos, learning tools and a lot more!
Vital Speeches of the Day Vital Speeches of the Day is a monthly collection of the best speeches in the world. It’s also a lot more than that.

The Cervantes Project
The Chicago Homer The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings.
The Kafka Project The Project was started in 1998 with the purpose of publishing online all Kafka texts in German, according to the manuscripts. The project is constantly under construction. This multilingual page is also intended to give scholars and Kafka fans a virtual forum to share opinions, essays and translations. Every detail of Kafka's world will find its place in this site, which aims to become the central hub for all Kafka-interested users.
Modernist Journals Project
Online Medieval and Classical Library The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Perseus Digital Library Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

APA Documentation
Grammar The content for the site was written by PHSC English Composition 1101 model online course developers Ann Bunting and Peri Poland. By having the lessons and exercises they created on grammar, essays, research, and documenting sources posted outside the course in a separate site, their students would continue to have access to the information after the course and provide a useful tool for the entire PHSC campus community: students, faculty, and staff. Peri and Ann continue to revise and supplement content.
MLA Documentation The content for the site was written by PHSC English Composition 1101 model online course developers Ann Bunting and Peri Poland. By having the lessons and exercises they created on grammar, essays, research, and documenting sources posted outside the course in a separate site, their students would continue to have access to the information after the course and provide a useful tool for the entire PHSC campus community: students, faculty, and staff. Peri and Ann continue to revise and supplement content.
PHSC Writing Center The content for the site was written by PHSC English Composition 1101 model online course developers Ann Bunting and Peri Poland. By having the lessons and exercises they created on grammar, essays, research, and documenting sources posted outside the course in a separate site, their students would continue to have access to the information after the course and provide a useful tool for the entire PHSC campus community: students, faculty, and staff. Peri and Ann continue to revise and supplement content.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Over 200 free resources including: * Writing and Teaching Writing Research * Grammar and Mechanics * Style Guides * ESL (English as a Second Language)
Research The content for the site was written by PHSC English Composition 1101 model online course developers Ann Bunting and Peri Poland. By having the lessons and exercises they created on grammar, essays, research, and documenting sources posted outside the course in a separate site, their students would continue to have access to the information after the course and provide a useful tool for the entire PHSC campus community: students, faculty, and staff. Peri and Ann continue to revise and supplement content.
World Wide Words The English language is forever changing. New words appear; old ones fall out of use or change their meanings. World Wide Words tries to record at least some part of this shifting wordscape by featuring new words, word histories, the background to words in the news, and the curiosities of native English speech.

Film Studies Research Guide: Web Resources

Useful Websites for Students: Communication

Useful Film Web Sites

Film Review Sites

Interesting Blogs