PHSC has two wireless networks, PHSC-Wireless and PHSC-Guest.
“PHSC-Wireless” will provide all PHSC Employees and Students with secure, encrypted wireless access. It can be accessed using your PHSC username and password.
“PHSC-Guest” will provide visitors to the college internet access. It can be accessed by simply agreeing to the terms and conditions that will be presented on the screen after connecting/opening a web browser. The restricted guest network will provide internet access only.
Your student identification card is your library card. To obtain a student ID you need a valid government-issued photo ID such as a driver's license.
Student ID/library cards are available at each PHSC campus library.
Course reserve material, including textbooks, anatomy models, calculators, and chemistry model sets are available for in library use. Use the tab located at the top of the page to view which items are available at your local campus library.
Ask-a-Librarian is an online chat reference service providing live research help and general Information needs assistance across the State of Florida. The service is free and is staffed by Reference Librarians from around the state, some of which are PHSC Librarians.
The service is often available late at night and on the weekends after the PHSC Libraries have closed. An app can be downloaded for the service, a Patron can text the service from their phone, E-mail the service, or chat with a Librarian in Spanish.
Even if a Patron is connected to a Librarian who is not based at PHSC, the Librarian still has access to all of the PHSC Library's research resources. The only limitation is that a non-PHSC Librarian cannot give a Patron assistance with their Library account as they do not have access to Patron information outside of their home Library.
Library staff are available during all scheduled hours to assist with use of the libraries’ resources, including LINCCWeb and other reference tools. Please do not hesitate to ask.
Library Online Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to library materials at PHSC and Florida's public colleges and universities. It is a discovery tool that will connect you with books, e-books, and content from our databases (journal and magazine articles, streaming videos, etc.).
To search for print materials:
Electronic Library Resources -- Databases
PHSC libraries also provide access to electronic databases that contain full-text journal articles, newspapers, and electronic books. Currently enrolled students with Internet access can use the databases anytime. Students can access the Electronic Library Resources automatically by logging into Canvas via the student portal and clicking on the link for Electronic Library Resources in their course, or by following the steps below:
To access the PHSC library databases:
Circulating materials are available to check out for a three-week period to faculty, staff, and currently registered students who hold a valid PHSC library card. Items may be renewed two times for a total of nine weeks. Reference books and periodicals cannot be checked out. Audiovisual materials can be checked out by students for viewing in the library.
Borrowed books may be renewed online at http://www.phsc.edu/library/.
The Leisure Collection is comprised of a rotating group of popular and leisure reading titles and audiobooks that the library rents. This allows PHSC to offer direct access to the latest popular fiction and non-fiction.
Leisure books and audiobooks are shelved separately. The Leisure books are recognizable by the light green stripe at the bottom of the spine. The audiobooks are shelved with the Playaways. They can be checked out for three-week periods and renewed twice.
Pre-Loaded Digital Audio Player
Playaway is a simple way to listen to audio on the go. Each Playaway comes with the entire audiobook already pre-loaded and a battery to make it play. Simply plug in earphones and enjoy.
You can easily navigate back and forth through chapters, and it automatically remembers where you stopped listening.
Playaways are shelved separately and can be checked out for three-week periods and renewed twice.
Intercampus loans can be made using the PHSC library catalog. Requested items are sent via a courier to the PHSC campus selected and are usually received within two days.
Books and articles not available in the library collections of PHSC may be requested through interlibrary loan. There is no charge for this service unless a fee is assessed by the lending institution. Inquire at the Circulation Desk for more information.
Computers are available for use within the library. These computers offer Internet, e-mail, and Microsoft Office access.
The library provides black and white photocopiers and networked printers. Students may use their PHSC ID cards in all copiers and printers. The charge is 10¢ per page. A machine is available within each library to add money to your card. If you do not have a PHSC ID, a Pay-for-Print card can be purchased for $1.00. There is a 50¢ charge for the card and 50¢ will be added to the card. The machine only accepts cash. You can also have any campus college store place money on your card.