Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog and Databases
When logging in to the Library's databases or catalog the login information is your PHSC E-mail address and password.
When logging in to My Account in the library catalog Primo VE, choose the SSO - PHSC portal option.
Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of filmmakers and performers.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Includes reference articles on literary themes. Also includes clips and articles about classic film adaptations.
Fine Arts (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles for all types of artists and topics, including cinema terms and filmmakers.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic Select (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles with a combination of full-text scholarly journals and select general interest titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes full text articles from more than 1,500 journals, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more.