Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog and Databases
When logging in to the Library's databases or catalog the login information is your PHSC E-mail address and password.
When logging in to My Account in the library catalog Primo VE, choose the SSO - PHSC portal option.
Useful Databases for Theater Research
ArchiveGrid (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is now searched via JSTOR images.
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is: A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage enviroment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Fine Arts (Gale Onefile) This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes full text articles from more than 1,500 journals, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more.
• Area studies
• Classical studies
• Gender studies
• Literary and social criticism
• Performing arts
• Religion and theology
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations, also includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.