Aviation: Websites

The FAA develops engineering, design, and construction standards for civil airports, heliports, and seaplane bases. This includes standards for airfield pavement; airport lighting, marking, signs, and other visual aids; safety during construction; surveying and GIS data; deicing, ARFF, and other facilities; bird radar and foreign object detection systems; and more.

Provides grants to public agencies — and, in some cases, to private owners and entities — for the planning and development of public-use airports that are included in the National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems (NPIAS).

Airport planning encompasses capacity, master and regional planning, aviation forecasting, and airspace planning. Activities include providing planning guidance, producing the biennial National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems, developing capacity studies, collecting boarding and cargo data to determine airport categories, and supporting NexGen through the development of tools such as the eALP.

Guidance and resources for airport safety and inspections; airport engineering, design, construction, and operation standards; airport grants and passenger facility charge collections; airport planning; environmental and social requirements; and airport rates and charges, compliance with grant assurances, and airport privatization.

A list of resources providing data and statistics for airport programs such as Airport Financial Reports; Airport Improvement Plan; Airport Noise Compatibilty Planning; All-Cargo Statistics; Aviation Forecasts; National Wildlife Strike Database; Passenger Boarding Statistics, etc.

Airport Diagrams are specifically designed to assist in the movement of ground traffic at locations with complex runway/taxiway configurations. Search by airport identifier code, state or airport name.

Provides information and links regarding revised FAR Part 139. Included is a link to the Final Rule which details the FAA's intent in its preamble.

Access links to State Aviation Offices by State and FAA Region. (NOTE: State Aviation Offices may have Airport Master Plans and additional information.)

National Center for Atmospheric Research.

Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association. (2012). Air safety foundation.

Joint Center for Advanced Materials Research.

International Civil Aviation Organization. (2012). Next generation of aviation professionals.

The FAA develops engineering, design, and construction standards for civil airports, heliports, and seaplane bases. This includes standards for airfield pavement; airport lighting, marking, signs, and other visual aids; safety during construction; surveying and GIS data; deicing, ARFF, and other facilities; bird radar and foreign object detection systems; and more.

Provides grants to public agencies — and, in some cases, to private owners and entities — for the planning and development of public-use airports that are included in the National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems (NPIAS).

Airport planning encompasses capacity, master and regional planning, aviation forecasting, and airspace planning. Activities include providing planning guidance, producing the biennial National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems, developing capacity studies, collecting boarding and cargo data to determine airport categories, and supporting NexGen through the development of tools such as the eALP.

Guidance and resources for airport safety and inspections; airport engineering, design, construction, and operation standards; airport grants and passenger facility charge collections; airport planning; environmental and social requirements; and airport rates and charges, compliance with grant assurances, and airport privatization.

A list of resources providing data and statistics for airport programs such as Airport Financial Reports; Airport Improvement Plan; Airport Noise Compatibilty Planning; All-Cargo Statistics; Aviation Forecasts; National Wildlife Strike Database; Passenger Boarding Statistics, etc.

Airport Diagrams are specifically designed to assist in the movement of ground traffic at locations with complex runway/taxiway configurations. Search by airport identifier code, state or airport name.

Provides information and links regarding revised FAR Part 139. Included is a link to the Final Rule which details the FAA's intent in its preamble.

Access links to State Aviation Offices by State and FAA Region. (NOTE: State Aviation Offices may have Airport Master Plans and additional information.)

View current and historical U.S. monthly summaries of daily temperature extremes, precipitation, and winds as report from major airport weather stations.

Monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, etc. from approximately 2000 stations (6 month lag time).

Contains historical international climatic data which can be searched by a specific data set, weather station ID, state, country, etc.

Select meteorological data from some stations in US and World.

World extremes and records related to weather.

A plethora of resources including State of the Climate which gives national and global overviews and analyses by month and year, and Climate at Glance which shows comparisons of local, state, regional, national, and global data in historical perspective to determine trends. Use the menu options on the left to explore these different areas.

Provides a step by step examples of how to read METAR and TAF reports.

The MSDS search for all products used on campus. (ERNIE login required)

Includes links to the OSHA standards in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations, OSH Act of 1970, and other laws, acts, regulations, and agreements related to occupational health and safety.

OSHA enforces the standards and regulations set up to help keep work places safe. This list is of the top standards for which employers have been cited.

Discusses OSHA's reporting and recordkeeping requirements for serious work-related injuries and illnesses.

Select "case and demographic numbers," then respond to the prompts until desired profile is attained.

"The Voluntary Protection Programs (VPP) promote effective worksite-based safety and health. In the VPP, management, labor, and OSHA establish cooperative relationships at workplaces that have implemented a comprehensive safety and health management system."

This OSHA site provides information about state health and safety plans. The page also has links to all the states that have approved plans.

The GHS is a system for standardizing and integrating the classification criteria and labelling of chemicals on a global level and is often referred to as the “Purple Book.” Be sure to use the menu on the left to access other GHS information such as the background, pictorgrams, and more. See also: GHS Pictograms

Pictures of the signs and symbols association with the GHS. See also: Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals.

NIOSH is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness.

This is the CDC’s website for topics and resources related to workplace health and safety.

This act protects the health and safety of workers employed in the nation’s mines.

Contains summaries of system failures in all different industries.

This website by Alternative Market Insurance Services (AMS) Workers' Compensation Solutions discusses ways to reduce workplace injuries and includes links to articles on various topics such as on how to reduce eye strain.