Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic CalendarCollege CatalogCourse Schedule College Store myPHSC
Pasco-Hernando State College
PHSC Libraries | Course Reserves | Research Guides | New Books | Library Catalog | Ask A Librarian |
Library Hours and Services | Library Services During COVID | Library FAQ

Metal Music Research: Websites

Websites A-Z

Below are websites that may be useful for your research, or just interesting and fun. Most of them are noted elsewhere in this guide, but collected here for your convenience.

Website for a course on heavy metal taught at MIT. 

This exhaustive website covers all genres of popular music and shows the historical relationships between genres and subgenres in an interactive chart format, featuring different layers and music videos.

Rock's Backpages is an online archive of music journalism, sourced from contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. PHSC does not have a subscription to this, but it is fully searchable and many articles may be requested via interlibrary loan.

A unique collection of backstage riders, presented to promoters by every touring act, details specifications on stage design, sound systems, lighting, as well as an artist's wish list--from travel and billing to dressing room accommodations and meals. A fascinating look behind the scenes of touring life. 

Website devoted to the history of heavy metal music in Tampa Bay and the greater region. 

The Collection of Heavy Metal Music Material (Collection 2269) is a group of books, documentary films, sound recordings, magazines, and archival material which includes biographies and autobiographies of members of Kiss, Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth, Black Sabbath, Twisted Sister, lamb of god, Anthrax, and others.  NOTE: Collection is not digitized, but a finding aid is available.