LibGuides: Nursing Research Guide: RN to BSN Program

Chat With a Librarian

Tips for Finding Statistics

Are you looking for statistics? Use Google and limit your results to educational institutions (college, university) and government sources by addingsite:.edu or site:.gov to your search

liver cancer statistics site:.gov
childhood obesity statistics site:.edu
nursing career statistics site:.edu

Organizations

PHSC is working towards applying for initial accreditation with CCNE and once that is completed hopes to apply for a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
This society was founded in 1922 and supports the professional development and learning of nurses with an eye on global health.
CCNE - Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
Officially recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a national accreditation agency, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public's health. CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing.

Difference between library databases and Google

Nursing Databases

These databases will be specifically useful to students in the RN to BSN Program.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. One of the best sources for scholarly medical information on a huge range of topics. Articles are generally geared toward medical professionals and students.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.