Ebooks: How to Access: Checking out an Ebook Central ebook for Laptop or Android

Here are the steps you will need to go through in order to download ebooks onto your device.

1. You will need to sign into your PHSC library account.
2. You will need to create an account with the databases Ebook Collection (EBSCO) or Ebook Central.  If you want to check out books from both databases you will need to create an account with both of the databases.
3. You will need to download the program Adobe Digital Editions (if using a desktop or laptop) including creating an Adobe ID.  This is a free program. You only need to create the Adobe ID if you are using a Nook, Ipad or Android device.
4.  You may need to download an additional App on your device (this depends on the database that you are using).
5. You can then go into the databases and download your ebook.

In order to download ebooks you will need to be logged into your PHSC library account.  This will give you access to all PHSC library resources. There are two ways to log into the PHSC Library.

• Sign into your Canvas account and click into one of your courses
• On the left side of the screen where Canvas gives you tabs to select portions of your course (Modules, Assignments etc.) at the bottom of this list you will see a button for Electronic Library Resources.
• Follow this link and it will log you directly to the library catalog (primo) and a link to the A-Z databases is above the search area.  Scroll down to Ebook Collection EBSCO or Ebook Central (ProQuest) and click on one of them to go into the database.

• Once you have signed into LINCCweb and have an account with Ebrary, you are ready to start checking out books.
• You can look for books in two ways.  You can go to our library catalog and search for ebooks. This method may bring up books from either Ebrary or Ebooks Collection (EBSCO). You can also go to the database Ebrary and look up books through the database. This is the method that I will be describing,
• To do that go to the Databases A-Z tab at the top of the library catalog page.
• There will be a long list of databases - scroll down to Ebook Central and click on it.
• This will send you to another page with a button that says connect to database, click on it.
• Now you are in the database.
• Ebook Central allows you to search or browse ebooks.  
• To browse, click on browse subjects link below the search bar.
• To search, enter your search terms into the box and click search. You can also use the advanced search link under the box.
• I created a search for Intellectual Property. You can be as simple or as complex as you like in your searches.
• You can read the ebook online by just clicking on the open book icon to the right of the title.
• To download the book click the icon with the arrow pointing downward to the right of the title or click on the title and click on the full download button on the left side of the screen.  See image below.

• When you click download, you will be asked to create an account or sign in. You will be asked what kind of device you are using - laptop, desktop, iOS iphone, ipad, ipod, or an android tablet or phone. There is a choice for other, but Ebook Central currently does not support other devices.
• If you select laptop or desktop, you will be prompted to get Adobe Digital Editions. You can either click on the link to get Adobe Digital editons or click done with this step.
• You will then be asked how long you would like to check the material out - most options range from 1- 21 days. Select your option and click download your book.

You have just downloaded an ebook!

Use your tablet or phone's browser to log into  the library resources.  Follow the instructions in the middle box to help you find a book to download. Once you have found a book to download, use the instructions below.

• When you click download, you will be asked to create an account or sign in. You will be asked what kind of device you are using - laptop, desktop, iOS iphone, ipad, ipod, or an android tablet or phone. There is a choice for other, but ebook central currently does not support other devices.
• If on an android tablet or phone, your option will be selected - just click continue. You will be prompted to download the Bluefire Reader. You can either click on the link to get the reader or click done with this step.
• You will then be asked how long you would like to check the material out - most options range from 1- 21 days. Select your option and click download your book.
• Your download may take awhile depending on your internet speed. Once, it is downloaded, it will bring up the Bluefire Reader app and ask you to authorize the device with an Adobe ID if you have not already done so - there is a link above the log in to create the free adobe ID.
• When you have authorized the app, you can select go to library or read now.

Congratulations! You have downloaded an ebook!