Skip to Main Content
Academic CalendarCollege CatalogCourse Schedule College Store myPHSC
Pasco-Hernando State College
PHSC Libraries | Collection Discovery | Research Guides | New Books | Library Catalog | Ask A Librarian |
Library Hours and Services |Faculty Request Form | Library FAQ

Ebooks: How to Access: Ipad Instructions

How to access eBooks via PHSC databases.

Steps to Downloading an Ebook

You will need to complete several steps before you are able to download ebooks onto your Ipad.  Use this page and other tabs on  the guide to direct you to the software and steps you will need to go through to make your Ipad ready.

  1. Create an Adobe ID - See the tab Download Software to your device.
  2. Download the Bluefire App. -See the tab Download Software to your device.
  3. Create accounts for the databases Ebrary and/or Ebooks Collection (EBSCO) - See Creating an account.
  4. Follow the instructions on Checking out an ebook below.

Please Note

EBSCO does support eBook downloads for:

1. iOS mobile devices (iPhone, iPod Touch) on Mobile site
2. Android mobile devices (phones) on Mobile site
3. Desktop users on Mobile site

They do not support:
1. Tablet users on Mobile or Full site
2. Mobile devices on Full site

If you have a tablet or mobile device and use the full site, the download may not function properly.

Downloading a Book from ebook Collection (EBSCO) or Ebrary

In order to download an ebook, you will need to log into your library's resource page known as LINCC web.

  • Sign into your Canvas account and click into one of your courses
  • On the left side of the screen where Canvas gives you tabs to select portions of your course (Modules, Assignments etc.) at the bottom of this list you will see a button for Electronic Library Resources.
  • Follow this link and it will log you directly into the databases for LINCC web.  Scroll down to Ebook Collection EBSCO or Ebook Central and click on one of them to go into the database.

To download an eBook:

  1. Find an ebook that you wish to check out and click the Download (Offline) link.

    If you are not logged into your your Ebrary or My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder.

  3. When prompted, tap to open the eBook with the Bluefire app.

    The Bluefire app opens and begins downloading the book.

  4. After the eBook is finished downloading, select Read Later or Read Now to open your eBook and begin reading.