LibGuides: Useful Websites for Students: Business

Subjects

AD* Access Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
ADViews Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
American Society of Business and Behavioral Sciences (ASBBS) The American Society of Business and Behavioral Sciences (ASBBS) was founded in 1994 as an interdisciplinary professional organization. The mission of ASBBS is to provide a forum for exchange of ideas among faculty members in Business and Behavioral science disciplines.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre The Business & Human Rights Resource Centre track the human rights policy and performance of over 6000 companies in over 180 countries, making information publicly available. We engage with companies and governments to urge them to share information publicly.
Businesswire Business Wire, a wholly owned subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, is the global market leader in commercial press release distribution. Thousands of member companies and organizations depend on Business Wire to transmit their full-text news, regulatory filings, photos and other multimedia content to journalists, financial professionals, investor services, regulatory authorities and the general public worldwide.
CERES Ceres is a non-profit organization advocating for sustainability leadership. Their website includes financials and industry reports focused on enabling business leadership in balancing sustainability risks and initiatives. Notable among their resources is the SEC Sustainability Disclosure Search Tool which allows users to screen SEC filings by sustainability issue or topic, company name, and industry group among other filters.
Commodity Futures Trading Commission Federal information regarding laws, trading, statistics, and news regarding commodities trading in the United States.
Economic Surveys Response The Census Bureau economic surveys page is your resource for assistance with survey response and access to Census economic data.
Euromonitor International Euromonitor International market research focuses on industry, country, company and consumer lifestyle research. We analyse companies and markets in more than 200 categories across 80 countries. Our research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data spans 206 countries.
The Geneva Association The Geneva Association has been carrying out its research role for the past 48 years and established a global reputation for high-quality and forward-looking work. In its role as the leading international think tank of the insurance industry, The Geneva Association: * detects early ideas and emerging debates on political, economic and societal issues concerning our industry * inspires and initiates further research into and analysis of such issues *organizes debates on the issues detected *disseminates research results and analysis and pushes underlying ideas among clearly defined target groups.
globalEDGE™ globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) project is an annual assessment of the entrepreneurial activity, aspirations and attitudes of individuals across a wide range of countries.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor(GEM) GEM carries out survey-based research on entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship ecosystems around the world. GEM is a networked consortium of national country teams primarily associated with top academic institutions. GEM is the only global research source that collects data on entrepreneurship directly from individual entrepreneurs.
Harvard Business School Working Knowledge HBS Working Knowledge is a forum for innovation in business practice, offering readers a first look at cutting-edge thinking from HBS faculty, and the opportunity to both influence and use these concepts before they enter mainstream management practice.
IDEAS IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,700,000 items of research, including over 3,400,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
Institute for Research on Poverty IRP is a nonpartisan research institution dedicated to producing and disseminating rigorous evidence to inform policies and programs to combat poverty, inequality, and their effects in the United States.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) The National Bureau of Economic Research concentrates on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the United States economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Search their database for Working Papers, books, Census data and other publications by keywords to retrieve citations, abstracts, and full text. All Working Paper abstracts are freely available, and limited full-text downloads are also available.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board. The PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports.
Survey of Current Business The monthly Survey of Current Business is BEA’s definitive source of information about its economic accounts.
ThomasNet Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers - from Actuators to Zirconium and everything in between.
U.S. Economic Accounts Detailed economic activity reports from the Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Economic Development Administration EDA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce that partners with distressed communities throughout the United States to foster job creation, collaboration and innovation.‪
U.S. Energy Information Administration The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
United Nations (UN) Global Compact Library Global Compact is a voluntary initiative based on CEO commitments to implement universal sustainability principles and to take steps to support UN goals. The UNGC Library contains materials issued by the UN Global Compact and key partners to support implementation of the Ten Principles and other relevant issues.

Bureau of Economic and Business Research The Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR) is an applied research center in the Warrington College of Business Administration at the University of Florida.
Center for Human Capital Studies As part of the U.S. central bank—which has a dual mandate to promote price stability and maximum employment—the Atlanta Fed has a natural interest in deepening its understanding of labor force dynamics and workforce development issues. The Center for Human Capital Studies supports those efforts through its research, as well as by offering such resources as conferences, seminars, and labor market tracking tools.
Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR)
Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Consumer Price Index (CPI) he Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Current Employment Statistics (CES) Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys approximately 143,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 588,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.
Current Value of Old Money A frequent question is "how much would a specified amount of money at a certain period of time be worth today?" The sources listed on this website are useful in attempting to answer this question.
Economic Policy Institute The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions.
Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) plays three key roles within the Department of Commerce (DOC). ESA provides timely economic analysis, disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). In this latter role,
EDGAR All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Employment Research and Program Development The Employment Research and Program Development initiates, plans, and directs activities for improving the quality and enhancing the analytical usefulness of the following BLS programs: American Time Use Survey, Business Employment Dynamics, Census of Employment and Wages, Current Employment Statistics, Current Population Survey, Employment Projections, Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey, Local Area Unemployment Statistics, Mass Layoff Statistics, and Occupational Employment Statistics.
Energy.gov Energy.gov contains studies, reports, a blog, a newsletter, statistics, and other publications, as well as market analysis and information on energy markets. The site includes topics on Energy strategy, Energy efficiency, Nuclear energy, International cooperation, Markets and consumers, Renewable energy, Infrastructure, Enforcement of laws and more.
EUROSTAT A European Commission searchable site with online access to free and fee-based statistical resources (i.e., news articles, long- and short-term indicators, working and focus papers, etc.) on economics and finance, population and social conditions, trade and industry, agriculture and fisheries, transportation, the environment and energy, and science and technology.
EWG Farm Subsidy Database Farm Subsidy Database, published by the Environmental Working Group, the nation’s leading environmental health research and advocacy organization, provides comprehensive information and statistics on the agricultural sector, a useful resource whether you're looking to sell products or services to that market or to start a business related to farming. The database is open access and fully searchable by zip code, county, congressional district, state, and farm name. It tracks $256 billion in farm subsidies from commodity, crop insurance, and disaster programs and $39 billion in conservation payments paid between 1995 and 2012.
FAOSTAT The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Our goal is to achieve food security for all and make sure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives. With over 194 member states, FAO works in over 130 countries worldwide. We believe that everyone can play a part in ending hunger.
Federal Reserve Economic Data Download, graph, and track 382,000 US and international time series from 81 sources.
Federal Reserve System The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It performs five general functions to promote the effective operation of the U.S. economy and, more generally, the public interest.
FRASER Publications FRASER is a unique project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis’ Center for Economic Documents Digitization (CEDD), which seeks to preserve the nation's economic history through digitization. FRASER consists of an open archive of economic statistical publications and data within an automated system to retrieve both images and data. There are two kinds of documents on FRASER: 1) data publications from U. S. government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau, and others more specialized, like the Board of Governor’s Statistical Releases; and, 2) historical publications such as archival material and special collections, including Monetary Policy Hearings, Public Statements of the Presidents of the St. Louis Fed, Statements of the Chairman of the Board of Governors, archival material from economic policymakers, and special collections: source materials from Allan Meltzer’s A History of the Federal Reserve, Vol. 1, the papers from the Brookings Institute’s Committee on the History of the Federal Reserve, and the papers of William McChesney Martin, Jr.
Global Consumption Database The Global Consumption Database is a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries.
Global Trade Alert Global Trade Alert provides timely information on state interventions taken since November 2008 that are likely to affect foreign commerce. It includes state interventions affecting trade in goods and services, foreign investment and labor force migration.
Historical Statistics of the United States : Colonial Times to 1970 Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics. Part 1 covers: Population. Vital statistics and health and medical care. Migration. Labor. Prices and price indexes. National income and wealth. Consumer income and expenditures. Social statistics. Land, water, and climate. Agriculture. Forestry and fisheries. Minerals. Part 2 covers: Construction and housing. Manufactures. Transportation. Communications. Energy. Distribution and services. International transactions and foreign commerce. Business enterprise. Productivity and technological development. Financial markets and institutions
IMF eLibrary The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
Index of Economic Freedom The Index covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
International Association for the Study of the Commons (IASC) The International Association for the Study of the Commons (IASC) is devoted to bringing together multi-disciplinary researchers, practitioners and policymakers for the purpose of improving governance and management, advancing understanding, and creating sustainable solutions for commons, common-pool resources, or any other form of shared resource.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) The IMF was established in 1944 in the aftermath of the Great Depression of the 1930s. 44 founding member countries sought to build a framework for international economic cooperation. Today, its membership embraces 190 countries, with staff drawn from 150 nations.
Major Economic Indicators Consumer Price Index, Employment Cost Index, Employment Situation, Producer Price Index, Productivity and Costs, Real Earnings, US Import and Export Price Indexes
National Bureau of Economic Research The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics These estimates are calculated with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in every state and the District of Columbia.
Open Knowledge Repository The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form. OKR contains research from thousands of works including: * World Bank published books from 2009-2012 which includes flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes; * All World Development Reports (WDRs) since 1978; * Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP) from 2009-2012, a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues; * Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies from 2009-2012, a series of analytical reports prepared by Bank staff (ESWs gather and evaluate information about a country’s economy and/or a specific sector); * Journal articles from 2007-2010 published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank; * Content in languages other than English; * World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies.
Opportunity Insights s part of our research studies, we put out publicly available datasets that can be used by other researchers and practitioners to support their own work. These datasets allow you to analyze social mobility and a variety of other outcomes from life expectancy to patent rates by neighborhood, college, parental income level, and racial background. You can search for datasets by geographic level (e.g., Census tracts), by topic (e.g., education), or by the title of the paper.
S&P Dow Jones Indices S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, a subsidiary of The McGraw-Hill Companies is the world's largest, global resource for index-based concepts, data and research.
State of Working America The State of Working America, an ongoing analysis published since 1988 by the Economic Policy Institute, includes a wide variety of data on family incomes, wages, jobs, unemployment, wealth, and poverty that allow for a clear, unbiased understanding of the economy’s effect on the living standards of working Americans.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Regional Economic Accounts provides in-depth economic statistics for U.S. states, Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs), Micropolitan Statistical Areas, and U.S. regions.
U.S. Trade Online USA Trade® Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data.
United States Economy at a Glance The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) produces Economy at a Glance pages at the national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels. The data displayed in these pages are assembled from different surveys and programs conducted by BLS. The Economy at a Glance pages are refreshed with current data every time any of the source programs releases new statistics.
The World Bank Since 1947, the World Bank has funded over 12,000 development projects, via traditional loans, interest-free credits, and grants.
The World Bank: Sustainable Development The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their Sustainable Development topic section features research and data to support initiatives in that area in a global context.
World Resources Institute World Resources Institute (WRI) is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, with offices in Brazil, China, Europe, India, Indonesia, and the United States. Our more than 450 experts and staff work closely with leaders to turn big ideas into action to sustain our natural resources—the foundation of economic opportunity and human well-being.

Entrepreneur For small business owners and for bright minds considering starting a business, there is a lot to consider. There are management practices, financial benchmarks, growth and expansion considerations, investment options, legal considerations and the list goes on. While the tools, advice, and even the encouraging success stories are all available, they are often scattered, can be difficult to find, and are not always reliable. This is where Entrepreneur Media comes in. They have recognized the need for easily accessible information for new and potential businesses, and have taken on the daunting task of creating valuable and relevant content, organizing that content and making it available to a very diverse group of users with very diverse needs.
Entrepreneurship.org Entrepreneurs require information and education in each phase of the entrepreneurial process. These needs can be substantial and range from introductory to advanced. Entrepreneurship.org provides a wealth of high-quality content that delivers guidance and expertise to entrepreneurs when launching, growing, and sustaining a business. In addition, the site addresses the larger entrepreneurial community (i.e., academics, business mentors, investors, policymakers, etc.) by giving access to general research about entrepreneurship.
Florida Small Business Development Center Network The Florida Small Business Development Center Network delivers consulting, training and information to help businesses succeed and create positive impact for the Florida economy.
SCORE SCORE offers the nation's largest, network of free, expert business mentors.
Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center SB/SE serves taxpayers who file Form 1040, Schedules C, E, F or Form 2106, as well as small businesses with assets under $10 million.
Small Business Development Center Networ SBDCNet is the official National Information Clearinghouse of the U.S. Small Business Administration.
U.S. Small Business Administration This portal to the U.S. Small Business Association provides comprehensive resources for small businesses, small business owners, and prospective business owners.
Small- Business Glossary of Terms

Books and Journals

Centre for Economic Policy Research Publications CEPR publications include: Discussion Papers, research by Research Fellows and Affiliates appears initially in the Discussion Paper series.