LibGuides: Useful Websites for Students: Science

Subjects

Anatomy Atlases http://www.anatomyatlases.org/
Anatomy: Medline Plus Links to descriptions and pictures of the human body's parts and organ systems from head to toe.
Whole Brain Atlas The Atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases

Astronomical Almanac Online The Astronomical Almanac is a joint publication of the U. S. Nautical Almanac Office, United States Naval Observatory (USNO), in the United States and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO), United Kingdom Hydrographic Office (UKHO), in the United Kingdom. The printed version contains precise ephemerides of the Sun, Moon, planets, and satellites, data for eclipses and other astronomical phenomena for a given year, and serves as a world-wide standard for such information. The online versio
Clear Dark Sky Sky Charts and North American Seeing Observations Database
Eric Weisstein's World of Astronomy Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics.
Finding Our Place in the Cosmos: From Galileo to Sagan and Beyond A thematic collection exploring changing models of the universe through time, ideas of life on other words and Carl Sagan’s place in the tradition of science. It features manuscripts, rare books, celestial atlases, newspaper articles, sheet music and movie posters.
The Galileo Project The Galileo Project is a source of information on the life and work of Galileo Galilei (1564-1642). Our aim is to provide hypertextual information about Galileo and the science of his time to viewers of all ages and levels of expertise. What you read and see here is a beginning -- we will continue to add and update information as it becomes available. We solicit contributions from our colleagues in the history of science and comments on how we can improve the project from everyone, particularly
Google Sky To help you explore the far reaches of our universe, we have teamed up with astronomers at some of the largest observatories in the world to bring you a new view of the sky. Using Google Maps this tool provides an exciting way to browse and explore the universe. You can find the positions of the planets and constellations on the sky and even watching the birth of distant galaxies as seen by the Hubble Space Telescope.
Johannes Kepler: The Laws of Planetary Motion
Mars Exploration Program
MESSEMGER: MErcury surface, Space Environment, GEochemistry, and Ranging MESSENGER is a scientific investigation – by spacecraft – of the planet Mercury. The name comes from “MErcury Surface, Space ENvironment, GEochemistry, and Ranging,” highlighting the project’s broad range of scientific goals.
NASA Eclipse Web Site Information about solar and lunar eclipses
National Solar Observatory Digital Library Where you can access the on-line archive of major NSO data sets. The currently available data sets include the Kitt Peak Vacuum telescope magnetograms and spectroheliograms; the Fourier Transform Spectrometer transformed spectra, the Sacramento Peak Evans Facility spectroheliograms and coronal scans, and solar activity indices.
Phases of the Moon: 2001 to 2025 The following table gives the date and time (Universal Time) of all phases of the Moon for the twenty-five year period 2001-2025. For the year 2000, the length of the mean synodic month (New Moon to New Moon) is 29.530588 days (=29d12h44m03s). However, the length of any one synodic month can vary from 29.26 to 29.80 days due to perturbing effects of the Sun on the Moon's eccentric orbit.
Photojournal: NASA's Image Access The Photojournal is your interface to the Planetary Image Archive (PIA) contained within the Planetary Data System Imaging Node. The home page graphic serves as a high-level entry point to the thousands of high-resolution images and their accompanying products which have been made available to the public from data returned by various JPL missions over the course of many years.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) The ADS maintains three bibliographic collections containing more than 15 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form as well as a classic search form. A browsable paper form is also available.
SkyView SkyView is a Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray.
Sloan Digital Sky Survey The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) is one of the most ambitious and influential surveys in the history of astronomy. Over eight years of operations (SDSS-I, 2000-2005; SDSS-II, 2005-2008), it obtained deep, multi-color images covering more than a quarter of the sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars.
Stanford Solar Center This site provides teachers, students, and the interested public with the latest information about the Sun. We also provide educational resources, such as our hugely popular build-your-own spectroscopes and our award-winning, globally -installed Sudden Ionospheric Disturbance (SID) monitoring project.

Algaebase AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. For convenience, we have included the sea-grasses even though they are flowering plants.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
BRENDA: The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. It is available free of charge for via the internet (www.brenda-enzymes.org) and as an in-house database for commercial users (requests to our distributor Biobase).
Catalogue of Life Catalogue of Life (COL) is a collaboration bringing together the effort and contributions of taxonomists and informaticians from around the world. COL aims to address the needs of researchers, policy-makers, environmental managers and the wider public for a consistent and up-to-date listing of all the world’s known species. COL also supports those who need to manage their own taxonomic information and species lists.
The Cell: An Image Library This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
CELLS Alive CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.
Charles Darwin's Papers Online The private papers of Charles Darwin, one of the most influential scientists in history, can now be seen by anyone online and free of charge. This is the largest ever publication of Darwin papers and manuscripts, totalling about 20,000 items in over 100,000 electronic images.
Cornell Lab of Ornithology The Macaulay Library archive at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings. Analog recordings, going back to 1929, have now been digitized and can be experienced at this site.
Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) The mission of the Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) Project is to enable the scientific and medical communities to interpret the human genome sequence and apply it to understand human biology and improve health. The ENCODE Consortium, an international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), integrates multiple technologies and approaches in a collective effort to discover and define the functional elements encoded in the human genome, including genes, transcripts, and transcriptional regulatory regions, together with their attendant chromatin states and DNA methylation patterns.
Encyclopedia of Life Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.
Evolution Resources Articles, books and information from the National Academy of Sciences
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) It provides a single point of access (through this portal and its web services) to more than 500 million records, shared freely by hundreds of institutions worldwide, making it the biggest biodiversity database on the Internet. The data accessible through GBIF relate to evidence about more than 1.5 million species, collected over three centuries of natural history exploration and including current observations from citizen scientists, researchers and automated monitoring programmes More than 1,000 peer-reviewed research publications have cited GBIF as a source of data, in studies spanning the impacts of climate change, the spread of pests and diseases, priority areas for conservation and food security. About 20 such papers are published each month. Many GBIF Participant countries have set up national portals using tools, codes and data freely available through GBIF to better inform their citizens and policy makers about their own biodiversity.
Human Genome Resources NCBI's Human Genome site pulls together a suite of its key resources available for human genome research. Through this interactive Web site, researchers may: Access the draft human genomic DNA sequences generated by the Sequencing Centers involved in the Project View and explore NCBI's assembled and annotated version of the human genome, either chromosome by chromosome or by searching for biologically important regions of the genomic sequence.
iBioSeminars iBioSeminars.org was developed to bring the best biology to people throughout the world for free. Started in 2007 by University of California - San Francisco and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, Professor Ron Vale, iBioSeminars has grown to include over 160 seminars and short talks by the world’s leading scientists. Our collection includes 18 talks by Nobel Laureates and 77 talks by members of the National Academy of Sciences. In 2013, we released our first full-length course in Light Microscopy and expanded the educational resources we offer. iBioSeminars is funded by the National Science Foundation and the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, and supported by the American Society for Cell Biology. Free online science talks: many universities/colleges have limited access to high profile leaders in biological research. Our goal is to add 15-20 seminars and 40 short talks per year. Access through web streaming or download is completely free-of-charge.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF).
National Estuarine Research Reserve Association The National Estuarine Research Reserve System is a network of 28 areas representing different biogeographic regions of the United States that are protected for long-term research, water-quality monitoring, education and coastal stewardship.
National Human Genome Research Institute The National Human Genome Research Institute began as the National Center for Human Genome Research (NCHGR), which was established in 1989 to carry out the role of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the International Human Genome Project (HGP). T
National Invasive Species Information Center The Web site serves as a reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species.
NatureServe NatureServe is a non-profit organization that provides high-quality scientific expertise for conservation. Our dynamic and impactful data, tools, and resources help guide conservation action where it’s needed most.
NCBI Bookshelf NCBI Bookshelf is the books division of the NLM Literature Archive (LitArch) at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Bookshelf is an online searchable collection of books, databases, reports, and other documents, providing free access to scholarly literature in biology, medicine, healthcare, and the life sciences. NLM LitArch (NLM Literature Archive) is a digital archive for books, documents, and articles in the fields of life science, medicine, and healthcare at the National Institutes of Health, managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) within the National Library of Medicine. NLM LitArch complements the PubMed Central (PMC) archive, which houses full-text electronic journal literature that is made available through the PubMed Central website; it includes books and documents which are not included within the PMC archive. Full text of content from this electronic archive is freely accessible through Bookshelf and other NCBI services.
Open Biology An open access journal covering biology at the molecular and cellular level. This selective, online journal publishes original, high quality research in cell biology, developmental and structural biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics
Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny). Each page contains information about a particular group, e.g., salamanders, segmented worms, phlox flowers, tyrannosaurs, euglenids, Heliconius butterflies, club fungi, or the vampire squid. ToL pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Starting with the root of all Life on Earth and moving out along diverging branches to individual species, the structure of the ToL project thus illustrates the genetic connections between all living things.
Understanding Evolution Understanding Evolution is a non-commercial, education website, teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology.

Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants The Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants is a joint effort by the Institute for Systematic Botany, the University of South Florida and the Florida Center for Community Design + Research to provide users with a comprehensive searchable database of vascular plants in the State of Florida.
Biology of Plants Information from the Missouri Botanical Garden
Botanic Gardens Conservation International BGCI provides a global voice for all botanic gardens, championing and celebrating their inspiring work. We are the world's largest plant conservation network, open to all. Join us in helping to save the world's threatened plants.
Botanicus Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
The International Plant Names Index The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI will be a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community.
Plant Information Online Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1003 North American nurseries for 90007 plants, find 301789 citations to 181088 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 18094 plants, and access information on 2769 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants The UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants is a multidisciplinary research, teaching and extension unit directed to develop environmentally sound techniques for the management of aquatic and natural area weed species and to coordinate aquatic plant research activities within the State of Florida. The Center was established in 1978 by the Florida legislature.

ChemCollective The Chemistry Collective began with the IrYdium Project's Virtual Lab in 2000, which provides a flexible simulation so that instructors may use it for a great variety of student activities. The project evolved to create scenario-based learning activities designed to provide interactive, engaging materials that link chemistry concepts to the real world.
ChemView Use this database to get information on chemical health and safety data received by EPA and EPA's assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). ChemView contains no confidential business information (CBI).
The Elemental Data Index The Elemental Data Index provides access to the holdings of NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) online data organized by element. It is intended to simplify the process of retrieving online scientific data for a specific element from various online databases, including atomic spectroscopy, atomic data, x-ray absorption, and nuclear data.
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
NIST Chemistry WebBook This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
The Periodical Table of Videos Tables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - but this modern version has a short video about each one.
PubChem PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide.
Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource This website, VIPEr (Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource), will serve both as a repository and as a user-friendly platform for social networking tools that facilitate virtual collaboration and community building.
Wired Chemist Features pedagogical animations, an introduction to chemistry, modules on important topics in chemistry, demonstrations of laboratory techniques, NMR spectral data and problems, and so on

Geologic Time: The Story of the Changing Earth Geologic Time was created by the Smithsonian Museums Department of Paleobiology. The site explores paleobiology and paleontology by eon, era, period and epic.
Geology USGS Geology efforts address major societal issues that involve geologic hazards and disasters, climate variability and change, energy and mineral resources, ecosystem and human health, and ground-water availability. We characterize the geological landscape and also provide the Nation with fundamental geochemical and geophysical data necessary to address these issues.
GeoRef GeoRef covers the following journals and series that are openly available on the web. Only journals and series that appear to provide stable open-access to current issues, have multiple issues available for use, and appear to plan to continue to be available in an open manner are included. Journals that require subscriptions to current issues are not included.
Ocean Drilling Program The Ocean Drilling Program (ODP) was funded by the U.S. National Science Foundation and 22 international partners (JOIDES) to conduct basic research into the history of the ocean basins and the overall nature of the crust beneath the ocean floor using the scientific drill ship JOIDES Resolution.
This Dynamic Earth: the Story of Plate Tectonics This book was originally published in paper form in February 1996 (design and coordination by Martha Kiger; illustrations and production by Jane Russell
U.S. Geological Survey The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

Carbon Offset Research and Education (CORE) Initiative This website provides an up-to-date analysis and synthesis of the most influential offset programs and activities. It reflects on lessons learned, and aims to inform consumers as well as participants and designers of current and future offset programs
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions The Center for Climate and Energy Solutions – an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization working to advance strong policy and action to address our climate and energy challenges.
Climate CoLab The goal of Climate CoLab is to harness the collective intelligence of thousands of people from all around the world to address complex societal problems, starting with global climate change.
Coastal Area Climate Change Education (CACCE) CACCE will organize a wide range of partners and stakeholders in the coastal regions of the southeastern United States and the Caribbean to educate current K-12 and college students, and the broader public about the impacts of global climate change.
Global Climate Change Indicators This page presents the latest information from several independent measures of observed climate change that illustrate an overwhelmingly compelling story of a planet that is undergoing global warming. It is worth noting that increasing global temperature is only one element of observed global climate change. Precipitation patterns are also changing; storms and other extremes are changing as well.
Global Climate Change Master Directory NASA's Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) holds more than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences.
Global Climate Change Research Explorer At this Web site, you can explore scientific data relating to the atmosphere, the oceans, the areas covered by ice and snow, and the living organisms in all these domains. You’ll also get a sense of how scientists study natural phenomena—how researchers gather evidence, test theories, and come to conclusions.
Hurricanes Overview of hurricane formation and data from NOAA
Interactive Global Geostationary Weather Satellite Images GOES weather satellite imagery courtesy of the Earth Science Office at NASA Marshall Space Flight in Huntsville Alabama. The global composite satellite maps are courtesy of the NCEP Aviation Weather Center in Kansas City Missouri.
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) The National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) is a federally funded research and development center devoted to service, research and education in the atmospheric and related sciences.
National Doppler Radar Sites National Weather Service enhanced radar images
NOAA Climate Services With the rapid rise in the development of Web technologies and climate services across NOAA, there has been an increasing need for greater collaboration regarding NOAA's online climate services. The drivers include the need to enhance NOAA's Web presence in response to customer requirements, emerging needs for improved decision-making capabilities across all sectors of society facing impacts from climate variability and change, and the importance of leveraging climate data and services to support
Tides Overview of tidal processes from NOAA
United Nations Environment Programme United Nations Environment Programme, established in 1972, is the voice for the environment within the United Nations system. UNEP acts as a catalyst, advocate, educator and facilitator to promote the wise use and sustainable development of the global environment.
Water Cycle Overview of the water cycle process from NOAA
World Meteorological Organization (WMO) The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is an intergovernmental organization with a membership of 193 Member States and Territories. It originated from the International Meteorological Organization (IMO), the roots of which were planted at the 1873 Vienna International Meteorological Congress.

Causes of Color Causes of Color is one of several exhibits in the WebExhibits online museum, all of which promote discovery through multidisciplinary approaches that support all learning styles. WebExhibits is a public service of the Institute for Dynamic Educational Advancement (IDEA).
The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein The Digital Einstein Papers is an open-access site for The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, the ongoing publication of Einstein's massive written legacy comprising more than 30,000 unique documents.
Conservation Laws If a system does not interact with its environment in any way, then certain mechanical properties of the system cannot change. They are sometimes called "constants of the motion". These quantities are said to be "conserved" and the conservation laws which result can be considered to be the most fundamental principles of mechanics. In mechanics, examples of conserved quantities are energy, momentum, and angular momentum. The conservation laws are exact for an isolated system.
Electromagnetic Field Theory: A Problem Solving Approach This text is an introductory treatment on the junior level for a two-semester electrical engineering course starting from the Coulomb-Lorentz force law on a point charge. The theory is extended by the continuous superposition of solutions from previously developed simpler problems leading to the general integral and differential field laws. Often the same problem is solved by different methods so that the advantages and limitations of each approach becomes clear. Sample problems and their solutions are presented for each new concept with great emphasis placed on classical models of physical phenomena such as polarization, conduction, and magnetization. A large variety of related problems that reinforce the text material are included at the end of each chapter for exercise and homework.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
The Higgs Boson | CERN
Interactive Physics Modules The Internet Plasma Physics Education eXperience (IPPEX) site on the World Wide Web (at http://ippex.pppl.gov/) allows students and teachers to participate remotely in scientific research at the country's largest fusion energy laboratory.
Kepler's Laws Johannes Kepler, working with data painstakingly collected by Tycho Brahe without the aid of a telescope, developed three laws which described the motion of the planets across the sky.
The Laws List The laws list is a list of various laws, rules, principles, and other related topics in physics and astronomy.
Mathematical Tools for Physics [Online Textbook] James Nearing University of Miami
Newton's Laws
Physics.org physics.org is brought to you by the Physics in Society team at the Institute of Physics. Our aim is to inspire people of all ages about physics. Let us be your guide and show you the best physics places on the web.
Physics Central The American Physical Society represents some 48,000 physicists, and most of our work centers on scientific meetings and publications-the primary ways that physicists communicate with each other. With PhysicsCentral, we communicate the excitement and importance of physics to everyone. We invite you to visit our site every week to find out how physics is part of your world. We'll answer your questions on how things work and keep you informed with daily updates on physics in the news.
Physics for the 21st Century An on-line course that explores the frontiers of physics. The 11 units, accompanied by videos, interactive simulations, and a comprehensive Facilitator's Guide, work together to present an overview of key areas of rapidly-advancing knowledge in the field, arranged from the sub-atomic scale to the cosmological.
Physics to Go Physics to Go is a collection of websites where you can learn physics on your own, through games, webcasts, and online exhibits and activities.
Richard Feynman Science Videos Feynman gives us not just a lesson in basic physics but also a deep insight into the scientific mind of a 20th century genius analyzing the approach of the 17th century genius Newton.
A WikiTextBook for Introductory Mechanics This e-Book is a first step toward a shift in the role of the printed textbook from authoritative serial repository to modular, customizable, linkable, interactive hub. The ideal modern textbook should provide a clear overview of the domain, short summaries of key content, links to more detailed online source material, embedded self-assessment, and a vehicle for instant student feedback. This open-source e-Book for introductory mechanics uses ideas from modeling physics to encourage strategic, concept-based problem solving and employs a wiki format to enable multiple parallel organizations of the material, links to resources and student comments.

American Museum of Natural History Library Digital Repository The AMNH Library Digital Repository is an archive maintained by the Research Library for AMNH Scientific Publications, AMNH scholarly output and other original and published materials digitized by the Library. All information in the repository is freely accessible to scholars around the world to support their research.
Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics.
National Science Digital Library NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.
National Science Foundation The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"
NIST Standard Reference Data NIST produces the Nation’s Standard Reference Data (SRD). These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases.
Profiles in Science This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health.
Public Library of Science The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
Science Nation In the National Science Foundation's Science Nation online magazine, we examine the breakthroughs, and the possibilities for new discoveries about our planet, our universe and ourselves.
ScienceSeeker The world’s most comprehensive aggregator of science discussions, all organized by topic.
Scitable Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science.
Visionlearning Visionlearning is a new educational resource for faculty and students. Funded by the National Science Foundation, Visionlearning provides high-quality science learning modules that have been shown to be more effective than traditional textbooks in teaching science.

All About Birds Information on 592 species
Animal Diversity Web The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others. It is a rich and flexible resource designed both as an encyclopedia for exploring biodiversity and for use in formal, inquiry-based education
Butterflies and Moths of North America Butterflies and Moths of North America is an ambitious effort to collect, store, and share species information and occurrence data.
The Cornell Lab of Ornithology Macaulay Library The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings
The Dino Directory An online guide to dinosaurs with images, facts and figures for over 300 dinosaurs.
Fishbase: a Global Information System for Fishes FishBase, a global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species
NEMESIS NEMESIS is a resource for information on non-native (or exotic) species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States. The Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) has developed and maintains a national database of marine and estuarine invasions of the continental U.S. and Alaska. This relational database compiles detailed information on approximately 500 different non-native species of plants, fish, invertebrates, protists and algae that have invaded our coastal waters. The database identifies which species have been reported, their current population status (i.e., whether established or not), as well as when, where, and how they invaded; it also summarizes key information on the biology, ecology, and known impacts of each invader.
Wikispecies Wikispecies is an offshoot of Wikipedia and contains over 268,851 articles. It is a free species directory that it open to editing. The Wiki includes Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Bacteria, Archaea, Protista and all other forms of life.
The Xerces Society The Xerces Society is a nonprofit organization that protects wildlife through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitat.

Books and Journals

The Analytical Sciences Digital Library A peer reviewed collection of web resources.
Bioinfo Publications Bioinfo Publications is an academic publisher with Peer Reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
BioMed Central (BMC) BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.
BioOne Complete BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The flagship product of the nonprofit publisher BioOne, BioOne Complete provides libraries with cost-effective access to high-quality, curated research and independent society publishers with a dynamic, community-based platform and global distribution. BioOne Complete's unique business model reinvests precious library funds in scientific communication, with over $45M returned to participating publishers to date.
Florida Entomologist Florida Entomologist*, "An International Journal for the Americas," is the official journal of the Florida Entomological Society and is published quarterly. Articles published in Florida Entomologist reflect all aspects of basic and applied entomological science.
Insecta Mundi Insecta Mundi is a journal primarily devoted to insect systematics, but articles can be published on any non-marine arthropod.
Internet Scientific Publications ISPUB is an open-access collection of peer-reviewed medical and scientific journals, covering a wide range of topics, disciplines, and specialties, and boasting authorship from all around the world. Users have free access to published journals on this website.
Journal of Coastal Research Journal of Coastal Research, an International Forum for the Littoral Sciences, is dedicated to all aspects of coastal research. These include geology, biology, geomorphology (physical geography), climate, littoral oceanography, hydrography, coastal hydraulics, environmental (resource) management, engineering, and remote sensing.
National Academies Press (NAP) The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States.
PAGEPress Publications Open Access Scientific Journals
ScienceOpen ScienceOpen is a freely accessible research network to share and evaluate scientific information.
Scientific Journals Researched information from 700+ peer reviewed, Open Access Journals operated by 50,000+ Editorial Board Members and esteemed reviewers and 1000+ Scientific associations in Medical, Clinical, Pharmaceutical, Engineering, Technology and Management Fields.
Scientific Research Publishing Journals Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is an academic publisher of open access journals. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of: Earth & Environmental Sciences; Medicine & Healthcare; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Computer Science & Communications; Chemistry & Materials Science; Engineering, Physics & Mathematics; Business & Economics; and Social Sciences & Humanities. SCIRP also publishes academic books and conference proceedings.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (Journals) The SORA project is a searchable open access electronic journal archive to the international ornithological literature. The database contains detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

Search

arXiv.org arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards
PubChem Search
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Science Research.com ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results.
Wolfram|Alpha Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers— not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

Useful Websites for Students: Science

Subjects

Books and Journals

Search

Google Scholar