LibGuides: Useful Websites for Students: Mathematics

Subjects

Algebra Wolfram Mathworld MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Algebra and Trigonometry (OpenStax Textbook) Algebra and Trigonometry provides a comprehensive and multi-layered exploration of algebraic principles. The text is suitable for a typical introductory Algebra & Trigonometry course, and was developed to be used flexibly.
Virtual Math Lab - Beginning Algebra Mathematics tutorials created at West Texas A & M University
Virtual Math Lab - College Algebra Mathematics tutorials created at West Texas A & M University
Virtual Math Lab - Intermediate Algebra Mathematics tutorials created at West Texas A & M University

Applied Mathematics MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Journal of Applied Mathematics Journal of Applied Mathematics is a refereed journal devoted to the publication of original research papers and review articles in all areas of applied, computational, and industrial mathematics.

Big Picture of Calculus Video from OpenMIT Courseware that provides highlights on the subject of calculus
Calculus and Analysis MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Calculus for Beginners and Artists This online textbook provides an overview of Calculus in clear, easy to understand language designed for the non-mathematician.
Calculus Online Textbook Published in 1991 by Wellesley-Cambridge Press, the book is a useful resource for educators and self-learners alike. It is well organized, covers single variable and multivariable calculus in depth, and is rich with applications.
Calculus Revisited: Complex Variables, Differential Equations, and Linear Algebra Calculus Revisited is a series of videos and related resources that covers the materials normally found in freshman- and sophomore-level introductory mathematics courses. Complex Variables, Differential Equations, and Linear Algebra is the third course in the series, consisting of 20 Videos, 3 Study Guides, and a set of Supplementary Notes. Students should have mastered the first two courses in the series (Single Variable Calculus and Multivariable Calculus) before taking this course.
Calculus Revisited: Multivariable Calculus Calculus Revisited is a series of videos and related resources that covers the materials normally found in freshman- and sophomore-level introductory mathematics courses. Multivariable Calculus is the second course in the series, consisting of 26 videos, 4 Study Guides, and a set of Supplementary Notes. The series was first released in 1971 as a way for people to review the essentials of calculus. It is equally valuable for students who are learning calculus for the first time.
Calculus Revisited: Single Variable Calculus Calculus Revisited is a series of videos and related resources that covers the materials normally found in a freshman-level introductory calculus course. The series was first released in 1970 as a way for people to review the essentials of calculus. It is equally valuable for students who are learning calculus for the first time.
Calculus with Applications This is an undergraduate course on differential calculus in one and several dimensions. It is intended as a one and a half term course in calculus for students who have studied calculus in high school. The format allows it to be entirely self contained, so that it is possible to follow it without any background in calculus.
Highlights of Calculus Highlights of Calculus is a series of short videos that introduces the basics of calculus—how it works and why it is important. The intended audience is high school students, college students, or anyone who might need help understanding the subject.
Pre-calculus Tutorials Introduction to Functions Piecewise Defined Functions Even and Odd Functions Polynomials Rational Functions Geometric Transformations of Functions Algebra of Functions Composition of Functions Trigonometric Functions Exponential Functions Inverses of Functions Logarithms Parameters and Functions Parametric Equations Polar Coordinates Graphing with Technology Solving Equations Curve Fitting Conic Sections

Euclidean Geometry How Euclid organized geometry into a deductive structure. An idea of what his definitions, axioms, postulates and theorems look like. A sense of how Euclidean proofs work. The sense of certainty scholars of earlier eras assigned to Euclid's geometry. Why the fifth postulate is an awkwardness for Euclid's geometry.
Euclid's Elements Euclid's Elements form one of the most beautiful and influential works of science in the history of humankind. Its beauty lies in its logical development of geometry and other branches of mathematics. It has influenced all branches of science but none so much as mathematics and the exact sciences. The Elements have been studied 24 centuries in many languages starting, of course, in the original Greek, then in Arabic, Latin, and many modern languages.
Fractal From Wolfram Alpha
Geometry MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Geometry of the Parabola Parabolas are a central topic in high school algebra classes, but, perhaps because of the rigid separation between algebra and geometry classes in the US secondary curriculum, we do not usually treat them as geometric objects. While most teachers are aware of some of the parabola's geometric properties, few of us are familiar with the proofs of those properties
Non-Euclid http://www.cs.unm.edu/~joel/NonEuclid/NonEuclid.html
Pythagorean Theroem A review of the Pythagorean Theorem provided by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration
The Pythagorean Theorem The Pythagorean Theorem was one of the earliest theorems known to ancient civilizations. This famous theorem is named for the Greek mathematician and philosopher, Pythagoras. Pythagoras founded the Pythagorean School of Mathematics in Cortona, a Greek seaport in Southern Italy. He is credited with many contributions to mathematics although some of them may have actually been the work of his students.

Biographies of Women Mathematicians A web site for biographies of women in mathematics.
The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive An award-winning site concerning the history of mathematics. In-depth coverage of numerous people, topics, mathematical curves, and more. Extensively cross-linked; powerful search engine. Rich and growing source of materials.
Math2.org A collection of information and tutorials related to a variety of topics in mathematics.
MathDL - Mathematical Sciences Digital Library MathDL is an NSDL Pathway Project created and maintained by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). It is a combination and extension of the previous MathDL, a collection within NSDL, and the earlier MAA Pathway Project, Math Gateway.
Mathematics Terminology MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Math Forum The Math Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet. Operating under the Drexel University School of Education, our mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.
MathPages This site contains several hundred articles concerned with mathematics and physics. General topics include Number Theory, Combinatorics, Geometry, Algebra, Calculus & Differential Equations, Probability & Statistics, Set Theory & Foundations, Reflections on Relativity, History, and Physics. The articles under each general heading are highly varied, many are quite advanced, and there is no apparent organizational scheme. For example, under Calculus & Differential Equations there is a proof that pi is irrational, a examination of the Limit Paradox, a discussion of Ptolemy's Orbit, and an historical review of the cycloid among many other articles. Visitors can browse by topics or search by keyword.
MathTV Free video tutorial presentations on a variety of topics in mathematics.
Number Theory MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Project Euclid Project Euclid is a joint effort by Cornell University Library and Duke University Press. It's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Project Euclid is designed to address the unique needs of low-cost independent and society journals. Through a collaborative partnership arrangement, these publishers join forces and participate in an online presence with advanced functionality, without sacrificing their intellectual or economic independence or commitment to low subscription prices. Over 70% of the journal articles hosted on Project Euclid are Open Access. Full-text searching, reference linking, interoperability through the Open Archives Initiative, and long-term retention of data are all important components of the project.
Wolfram MathWorld MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.

Probability and Statistics MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Probability: Random Isn't So Random A lot of events in our life seem random or impossible to predict. However, with probability theory we can learn more about these things to solve interesting problems that range from the lottery to diagnosing medical diseases. By teaching you basic principles and more advanced topics about theorems and models, this class will give you the tools to see the world in a different way that may not be intuitive but is proved by the math behind it.
Sampling Distributions This Java applet lets you explore various aspects of sampling distributions. When the applet begins, a histogram of a normal distribution is displayed at the topic of the screen.
Simulations and Demonstrations A collection of Java applets that demonstrate statistical functions
Web Interface for Statistics Education The site includes the following: interactive statistics tutorials answers to questions a jump-off point for connecting to other resources for statistics on the Internet

Books and Journals

The Electronic Library of Mathematics EMIS contains the full text of selected United States and international mathematical journals. Sample list of titles: Advances in Geometry Annals of Mathematics Archivum Mathematicum Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical Computer Science Electronic Journal of Probability and Electronic Communications in Probability Experimental Mathematics Living Reviews in Relativity
Historical Mathematics Monographs The Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs is a collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from the mathematics field. These were monographs that were brittle and decaying and in need of rescue.
Online Mathematics Textbooks The writing of textbooks and making them freely available on the web is an idea whose time has arrived. Most college mathematics textbooks attempt to be all things to all people and, as a result, are much too big and expensive. This perhaps made some sense when these books were rather expensive to produce and distribute--but this time has passed.

Search

arXiv.org arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards.
Wolfram|Alpha Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers— not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods
zbMATH Open zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe. The editorial work is done by the Berlin office of FIZ Karlsruhe, which as a member of the Leibniz Association is a non-profit company and a recognized organisation serving the public interest. Since January 2021, zbMATH Open has been available as an open access database.

Useful Websites for Students: Mathematics

Subjects

Books and Journals

Search

Google Scholar